Draw Seeding for 2018 World Cup and 2019 AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers Revealed

ABS-CBN Sports on Apr 12, 2015 11:33 AM
Draw Seeding for 2018 World Cup and 2019 AFC Asian Cup Quali

The Philippines and the 39 other nations who are set to compete in the Preliminary Joint Qualification Round Two for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and the 2019 AFC Asian Cup have already been divided into five pots for the upcoming draw this April 14 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, as announced in the official website of the Asian Football Confederation (www.the-afc.com)

The pots were chosen based on the latest FIFA World Rankings released last April 9th. The teams in the five pots will then be drawn into eight groups composed of five teams each.

The 40 nations were divded into pots as follows:


POT 1 (Ranking 1-8): Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Australia, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, China, and Iraq.

POT 2 (Ranking 9-16): Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Jordan, Bahrain, Vietnam, Syria, and Kuwait.

POT 3 (Ranking 17-24): Afghanistan, Philippines, Palestine, Maldives, Thailand, Tajikistan, Lebanon, and India.

POT 4 (Ranking 25-32nd): Timor-Leste, Kyrgyzstan, DPR Korea, Myanmar, Turkmenistan, Indonesia, Singapore, Bhutan.

POT 5 (Ranking 33-40): Malaysia, Hong Kong, Bangladesh, Yemen, Guam, Laos, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei


Teams that are placed in the same pot will not be facing each other during the Qualification Rounds, and the teams will be competing in a double-round robin format from June 11, 2015 up to March 29, 2016.

Group Winners and the four best runners-up will advance to the 2019 AFC Asian Cup and the final qualifiying round for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup is set to take place from June to July 2018 in Russia, while the 2019 AFC Asian Cup is set for the United Arab Emirates.


via www.the-afc.com

Latest News