AFF Suzuki Cup kicks off at the Philippine Sports Stadium

Santino Honasan on May 20, 2016 02:08 PM
AFF Suzuki Cup kicks off at the Philippine Sports Stadium
The Philippine Azkals made it all the way to the semifinals in the 2014 AFF Suzuki Cup. Can they go even further this time around?

After a bit of controversy regarding hosting rights, it looks like everything's pretty much set as the Philippines will stay on as a host country for the 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup, in fact, the festivities will be kicking off in Bulacan. 

According to a post on the AFF Suzuki Cup's Facebook page, the 2016 edition of the Southeast Asian football tournament will begin at the Philippine Sports Stadium in Bocaue, Bulacan, a site that has hoste a number of Azkals and Filipino club football matches. 

Aside from the Philippine Sports Stadium, the Rizal Memoria Stadium will also be utilized as a venue for the tournament. 

Co-hosting alongside the Philippines will be Myanmar, with the Thuwunna YTC Stadium and the Aung San Stadium serving as playing venues in Yangon. 

The 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup will run from November 19 to December 17, 2016. 

As it stands, the top seven teams from the 2014 AFF Suzuki Cup have already qualified for the tournament, including the host countries. 

The eighth and final spot for the tournament goes to the winner of the qualification tournament between Laos, Cambodia, Timor-Leste and Brunei. The qualification tournament is expected to take place mid-October. 

In the 2014 tournament, the Philippine Azkals made it up to the semifinals, falling to eventuall champions Thailand. 


Latest News