Brazil brings 7 Olympic champions to World Cup qualifiers

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 23, 2016 10:39 AM
Brazil brings 7 Olympic champions to World Cup qualifiers
Brazil's Neymar, center, celebrates with teammates during the medal ceremony after the final match of the men's Olympic football tournament between Brazil and Germany at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Saturday, Aug. 20, 2016. Brazil won the gold medal on a penalty shootout. (AP Photo/Andre Penner)

Associated Press


RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) — Seven players who won gold for Brazil at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics are in new coach Tite's squad for the next two World Cup qualifiers.

Goalkeeper Weverton, defenders Marquinhos and Rodrigo Caio, midfielder Renato Augusto and strikers Neymar, Gabriel Barbosa and Gabriel Jesus all played in the final at the Maracana stadium on Saturday to give the hosts their first Olympic gold in men's football.

Brazil beat Germany on penalty kicks, with Neymar sealing the gold medal.

Brazil will play Ecuador in Quito on Sept. 1 and five days later host Colombia in Manaus.

Brazil has nine points and is in sixth place in its qualifying group. The first four have direct spots in the Russia 2018 World Cup tournament.


Brazil Squad:

Goalkeepers: Weverton (Atletico Paranaense), Marcelo Grohe (Gremio), Alisson (Roma).

Defenders: Miranda (Internazionale), Gil (Shandong Luneng), Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain), Rodrigo Caio (Sao Paulo), Fagner (Corinthians), Daniel Alves (Juventus), Marcelo (Real Madrid) and Filipe Luis (Atletico Madrid).

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Rafael Carioca (Atletico Mineiro), Paulinho (Guangzhou Evergrande), Renato Augusto (Beijing Guoan), Giuliano (Zenit), Willian (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool) and Lucas Lima (Santos).

Forwards: Neymar (Barcelona), Gabriel Barbosa (Santos), Gabriel Jesus (Palmeiras) and Taison (Shakhtar Donetsk).

Latest News