Azkals face Kyrgyzstan in final friendly before Suzuki Cup

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 09, 2016 10:41 AM
Azkals face Kyrgyzstan in final friendly before Suzuki Cup
Philippine Azkals skipper Phil Younghusband, Azkals coach Thomas Dooley, and they Kyrgyzstan national team pose for a photo during the pre-match press conference at the Century Park Hotel in Manila.

The Philippine Azkals will have one more friendly match to take care of before they embark on the AFF Suzuki Cup,as they host the Kyrgyzstan national football team, Wednesday night at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila. 

The Pinoy side's last two outings have been less than favorable, with consecutive losses to Bahrain and North Korea last month. 

Confidence will be on the side of the Azkals though, as they've already beaten the higher-ranked Kyrgyzstan, and they managed to do it in Kyrgyzstan's home pitch in Bishkek back in September, courtesy of conversions from Kevin Ingreso and Misagh Bahadoran. 

"We had a good result against Kyrgyzstan in Kyrgystan, with difficult conditions, with their home fans, with the referees, who we felt were against us. Maybe it’s slightly more in our favor this time." Azkals skipper Phil Younghusband told ABS-CBN Sports during a pre-match press conference, Tuesday morning. 

The final friendly match could serve as a gauge on how the Azkals are before they head onto the highly anticipated Suzuki Cup later this month, where they'll be facing some of the best teams in Southeast Asia. 

The Azkals have found themselves grouped with Singapore, Thailand, and Indonesia, three teams who have at least made the finals in the last three editions of the Suzuki Cup. 

Before thinking about the Suzuki Cup however, they need to focus on visiting Kyrgyzstan and try to replicate their success last September. 

Returning to the Azkals lineup from stints with international clubs will be Daisuke Sato and Mark Hartmann.


Azkals roster vs. Kyrgyzstan

Patrick Deyto

Nicholas O'Donnell 

Paolo Bugas

Amani Aguinaldo

Roland Muller

Dennis Villanueva

Manny Ott

Kevin Ingreso

Stephan Schrock

Martin Steuble

Phil Younghusband

James Younghusband

Misagh Bahadoran

Iain Ramsay

Daisuke Sato

Mark Hartmann

Simon Greatwich

OJ Porteria

Kenshiro Daniels

Junior Muñoz

Shirmar Felongco

Dominic Del Rosario

Jeffrey Christiaens 





Latest News