UAAP MVPs Gayoso, Gadia banner SEA Games football squad

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 16, 2017 05:37 PM
UAAP MVPs Gayoso, Gadia banner SEA Games football squad
Ateneo's Jarvey Gayoso and former UP captain Daniel Gadia lead the men's football team to the 2017 Southeast Asian Games in Kuala Lumpur

Some of the best young talents in Philippine football will be representing the country in the upcoming Southeast Asian Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. 

Leading the charge for the men's Philippine team will be a couple of UAAP MVPs in Ateneo's Jarvey Gayoso and University of the Philippines' former team captain Daniel Gadia. 

Sophomore striker Gayoso steered the Blue Eagles to an amazing UAAP Season 79 campaign which was capped off by their first men's football title since UAAP Season 75. 

Gadia, on the other hand, has represented the country on a number of occasions, including stints with the senior men's national team. In UAAP Season 78, Gadia captained the Fighting Maroons to their sixth men's football crown. 

Joining Gayoso and Gadia on the U-23 team are a number of collegiate talents including Christian Lapas, Ian Clarino, and Ace Villanueva of UP, Jordan Jarvis and Jayrah Rocha of Ateneo, RJ Joyel and Reymart Cubon of FEU among others. 

Over on the women's side, the newly-crowned UAAP women's football champions De La Salle University is well represented, with team captain Inna Palacios, Sara Castañeda, Kyra Dimaandal, Kyla Inquig, Regine Metillo, and Irish Navaja making the team. 

Joining them are striker Cam Rodriguez of Ateneo, Alesa Dolino and Jovelle Sudaria of FEU, and overseas-based players such as Eva Madarang, Hali Long, and Patricia Tomanon. 

Check out the complete lineups below:

The 2017 Southeast Asian Games kicks off on August 19th.

Latest News