UAAP MVP Jarvey Gayoso among young stars called up for Chinese Taipei tourney

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 28, 2017 03:23 PM
Gayoso among young stars called up for international tourney
Reigning UAAP football MVP Jarvey Gayoso joins the Philippine Azkals for an international tournament in Chinese Taipei

The Philippine Men’s National Team will participate in the four-nation Chinese Taipei Football Association (CTFA) International Tournament scheduled on 1-5 December 2017 in Taipei, Taiwan.

The Philippines will play against host Chinese Taipei, Laos, and Timor Leste. All the tier 1, “A” matches will be held at the Municipal Stadium in Taipei.

The tournament schedule is outside the FIFA international match window and there is no mandatory release by clubs of players for national team duty.

Team management is headed by Jefferson Cheng as Team Manager while the coaching staff is led by Marlon Maro as Head Coach, assisted by Randolfo Clarino, Marlon Piñero, Ronoel Garfin and Ramoncito Lalas.

Available players who were called up include those from Philippines Football League clubs and several standouts from the U22 team. They will be joined by James and Phil Younghusband, Simone Rota, Angel Guirado, Ruben Doctora Jr., and Mike Ott.

The tournament is seen as a good opportunity for the young players to experience being part of the Men’s Team and show their potential in the higher level.



Nathanael ALQUIROS – Stallion Laguna FC
Fitch ARBOLEDA – Stallion Laguna FC
Junell BAUTISTA – Davao Aguilas FC
Jaime CHENG – Davao Aguilas FC
Justin CHENG – Davao Aguilas FC
Julian CLARINO – University of the Philippines
Reymart CUBON – Davao Aguilas FC
Dylan DE BRUYCKER – Davao Aguilas FC
Ruben DOCTORA Jr. – Stallion Laguna FC
Javier GAYOSO – Ateneo de Manila University
Angel GUIRADO – Davao Aguilas FC
James HALL – Davao Aguilas FC
Ray JOYEL – Far Eastern University
Christian LAPAS – University of the Philippines
Kintaro MIYAGI – Univeristy of the Philippines
Nick O’DONNELL – Davao Aguilas FC
Mike OTT – Angthong FC
Simone ROTA – Davao Aguilas FC
Yannick TUASON – Stallion Laguna FC
Adam TULL – Kaya FC Makati
Reynald VILLAREAL – Stallion Laguna FC
James YOUNGHUSBAND – Davao Aguilas FC
Phil YOUNGHUSBAND – Davao Aguilas FC



1 December 2017 – 4:00 PM

Laos vs Philippines


3 December 2017 – 7:00 PM

Chinese Taipei vs Philippines


5 December 2017 – 4:00 PM

Timor-Leste vs Philippines

Latest News