Football: University of Batangas shines on opening day of 21st AF Cup-Luzon

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 21, 2019 05:47 PM
University of Batangas shines on opening day of 21st AF Cup
(Photo courtesy of Aboitizland Football Cup)

October 20, 2019 -- The 21st Aboitizland Football Cup-Luzon kicked off on October 20, 2019 at the Aboitiz Pitch inside The Outlets at Lipa in LIMA Estate, Batangas. The opening day featured the Men’s Open division. Thirteen teams from the Calabarzon area and Metro Manila participated. Local fans were proud to see University of Batangas Team A lift the trophy. 

UAAP Season 81 MVP and Philippine Under-23 National Team member Jarvey Gayoso graced the opening ceremony and spoke about how happy he is to see football becoming more accessible to more players. A native of Binan, Laguna, Gayoso shared his experience as a young football player. He said that he and his teammates used d to travel all the way to Alabang or Makati, just to be able to play in football tournaments. Now that the Aboitiz Pitch has opened in Lipa, players from the surrounding areas can get a chance to compete on a regular basis.

Philippine Women’s National Team (Malditas) player Alisha Del Campo was also present at opening ceremony. She spoke about the importance of tournaments like the Aboitizland Football Cup when it comes to developing the confidence of young players. Both Gayoso and Del Campo are part of the teams that will compete in the upcoming Southeast Asian Games. 

Mr. Philbright Ang Ti, Vice President for Corporate Resources of AboitizLand and Mr. Rely San Agustin of RSA Una Group, the head organizer, welcomed all the players during the opening. 

The first matchday of the AboitizLand Football Cup-Luzon was a fun-filled affair but the competition was tough. The fitness levels of some players were tested, and tempers flared at some point. The University of Batangas stood out after both of their teams made it into the final four.


Here is the full list of winners:

3rd Runner Up: Aquire Football Academy

2nd Runner Up: University of Batangas Team B

1st Runner Up: PCU Dasma FC

Champions: University of Batangas Team A. 

Category MVP Goldwin Espina and Finals MVP Renz Dimaano are also both from University of Batangas. 


The AboitizLand Football Cup will be held Saturdays and Sundays until mid-December. For more information about registration details, visit the Aboitiz Football Cup’s official Facebook page at

Latest News