PSA to honor Valdez as back-to-back Ms. Volleyball

ABS-CBN Sports on Jan 22, 2015 04:57 PM
PSA fetes Valdez with second straight Ms. Volleyball award
Alyssa Valdez of the Ateneo De Manila Lady Eagles will again receive the PSA's special recognition as Ms. Volleyball for the second straight year.

Ateneo De Manila Lady Eagles star Alyssa Valdez leads the list of four individuals who excelled in their respective sports in the year just passed that will be the recipients of special recognition from the Philippine Sportswriters Association in next month’s Annual Awards Night presented by MILO.

The ever charming Valdez is again named season’s Ms. Volleyball, jin Jean Pierre Sabido is Mr. Taekwondo, while Tony Lascuna and Princess Superal are going to be honored as Golfers of the Year by the country’s oldest media organization in formal rite on Feb. 16.

All four are part of around 70 personalities and entities expected to share the limelight in the annual formal affair also co-presented by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) headed by chairman Richie Garcia.

Valdez, also honored with the Ms. Volleyball award a year ago, guided the Ateneo Lady Eagles to their first ever UAAP women’s volleyball championship by overcoming rival De La Salle’s imposing thrice-to-beat advantage in the Finals.

Sabido meanwhile, distinguished himself as the most bemedalled jin last year by winning a pair of gold (individual freestyle and team) in the 9th World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico, where he also emerged as MVP in the freestyle event, male category.

In addition, he also bagged a gold medal (individual freestyle) in the 3rd Asian Taekwondo Poomsae Championship in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

Lascuna for his part won the ICTSI Philippine golf Tour Order of Merit crown for the third straight year after topping the annual event with total earnings of P3,181,565.

Not to be outdone, Superal set herself apart as the country’s top amateur golfer following her triumphs in the U.S. and Southeast Asia.

The then 17-year-old player became the first from the Philippines to win a United States Golf Association event when she beat three-time Women’s Mexican Amateur champion Marijosse Navarro for the US Girls Junior Championship at the Forest Highlands Golf Club in Flagstaff, Arizona.

She later teamed up with Mia Legaspi and the rest of the Philippine team as the young Filipinas upended the fancied Thais to win the Santi Cup by 13 strokes at the Empire Hotel and Country Club in Brunei.

Already named earlier by the PSA as part of its honor roll in the event which has Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Accel, Globalport, and Rain or Shine as traditional backers are Tim Cone (Excellence in Basketball) and the 1973 Philippine men’s team (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Still to be announced is the winner of the coveted Athlete of the Year award being disputed by Daniel Caluag of cycling, pro boxing’s Donnie Nietes, and Gabriel Moreno of archery.


Latest News