PSA fetes Bersamina, Soguilon as Junior Athletes of the Year

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 13, 2015 01:16 PM
Bersamina, Soguilon named Milo Junior Athletes of the Year
Young woodpusher Paulo Bersamina and swimmer Kyla Soguilon will receive their award as co-Junior Athlete of the Year in the PSA Annual Awards on Monday.

Two young outstanding athletes in the field of chess and swimming are the recipient of the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year honor bestowed by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA). 

International Master Paulo Bersamina and bemedalled swimmer Kyla Soguilon make up the latest batch of young achievers who will be honored on Monday’s PSA Annual Awards Night co-presented by MILO and San Miguel Corp. at the 1Esplanade in Pasay City. 

It will be the third straight year that MILO in partnership with the country’s oldest media organization, are handing out the special award given to top young outstanding athletes whose achievements and excellence help inspire the Filipino youth. 

Palarong Pambansa standouts Regina Erin Castrillo and Rafael Barreto were honored with the same award in last year’s edition of the formal affair that has Meralco, Smart, and the MVP Sports Foundation as principal sponsors and the Philippine Sports Commission as major sponsor. 

MILO sports executive Andrew Neri said both Bersamina and Soguilon exemplified the values of leadership, discipline, perseverance, and integrity in life through their exceptional athleticism in their respective sports. 

Bersamina earned his IM after topping the U-20 event of the 15th ASEAN Age Group Chess Championships in Macau. 

Soguilon on the other hand, made her presence felt in two international tournaments as a 10-year-old swimmer, including the 16th Royal Bangkok swimfest where she collected a total of six gold medals.

Both Bersamina and Soguilon will go up the stage twice during the awards night also supported by Air21, National University, PAGCOR, ICTSI, Accel, Maynilad, PBA, Rain or Shine, PCSO, El Jose Catering, Globalport, and 1Esplanade, as they are also part of the five-man awardee to be presented with the Tony Siddayao honor.

The two will be joined by kart riders Zachary David and Gabriel Tayao Cabrera, and golfer Mikhaela Fortuna in the latest batch of young athletes to be feted with the special award named in honor of the late Manila Standard sports editor Tony Siddayao, considered as the Dean of Philippine sportswriting.  

The award is given by the county’s oldest media organization to promising athletes 17-and-under who showed exemplary skills in their respective sports.

Both David and Cabrera ruled their respective divisions in the Asian Karting Open Series held in Macau while Fortuna won the US Kids-Teen World Golf Championship 13-division.

Lone Incheon Asian Games gold medal winner Daniel Caluag is the PSA’s 2014 Athlete of the Year. 

Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Richie Garcia will be the special guest speaker and leads the local sports community in toasting Caluag and the rest of the honorees for what they achieved in 2014. 

Two-time UAAP cheerdance competition champion National University will provide the entertainment part of the program to be hosted by veteran sportscasters Quinito Henson and Patricia Bermudez Hizon.

The awards rite will also give out honors to the NU Bulldogs (President’s Award), Hans Sy (Executive of the Year), MVP Sports Foundation Inc. (Sports Patron of the Year), the 1973 Philippine men’s basketball team (Lifetime Achievement Award), Tim Cone (Excellence in Basketball), Mitsubishi (Hall of Fame), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Jean Pierre Sabido (Mr. Taekwondo), and Princess Superal and Tony Lascuna (Golfers of the Year). 

Major Awards meanwhile, will be handed out to Donnie Nietes, San Mig Coffee team, Gabriel Luis Moreno, Michael Christian Martinez, San Beda Red Lions, June Mar Fajardo, Kiefer Ravena, Mark Galedo, Daniella Uy, Mikee Charlene Suede, Jessie Aligaga, Jean Claude Saclag, Philippine dragon boat team, Philippine poomsae team (male over 30), Philippine poomsae team (freestyle), Kid Molave, and Jonathan Hernandez.

Latest News