UAAP Season 77 closing ceremony on Saturday

ABS-CBN Sports on Apr 10, 2015 07:38 PM
UAAP Season 77 closing ceremony on Saturday

THE UAAP Athlete of the Year in the men’s, women’s and juniors division will be known on Saturday as the league’s 77th season brings down to a close at the UE Theater in Recto, Manila.

The closing ceremony is set at 5 p.m., which will be capped by the turnover of the league hosting from University of the East to University of the Philippines.

Outgoing Season 77 president Carmelita Mateo will hand the UAAP flag to incoming Season 78 president Dr. Michael Tan, who will give the acceptance speech.

University of Santo Tomas will be feted for regaining its lofty status as the most successful sports program in the league after winning a record 40th seniors general championship and a 16th juniors overall crown.

The Growling Tigers ended De La Salle’s two-year reign in the seniors division as they nipped the Green Archers by seven points.

UST also wrested the high school general championship crown from season host University of the East by six points.

The Athlete of the Year will be selected from among the Season 77 Most Valuable Players from the league's 15 sports.      

The league will also honor the athlete-scholars who not alsoexcelled in sports but also in academics - Adamson's badminton player Mikaela Aquino, Ateneo's ace swimmer Axel Ngui, La Salle's table tennis stalwart Jerald Cristobal, Far Eastern University's volleyball libero Tin Agno, National University's basketball mainstay Kristine Abriam, UE's fencing skipper Nathaniel Perez, University of the Philippines' poomsae specialist Dustin Mella and UST's athletics standout Eloisa Luzon.

Also to be given citations are the league's athletes who competed in international tournaments during the 2014-15 season, as well as the Rookies of the Year from 15 sports.

Latest News