San Beda jins grab eighth straight NCAA taekwondo crown

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 07, 2015 02:40 PM
San Beda jins grab eighth straight NCAA taekwondo crown
The San Beda Red Jins ruled the NCAA Taekwondo competition for the eighth straight year.

San Beda claimed its eighth overall men's championship while St. Benilde captured the women's crown in the 91st NCAA Taekwondo competition at the Mapua Gym over the weekend.

Kenneth Marc Porras took the lightweight gold on his way to winning the men's MVP while John Gervin Astrologio (feather), Brix Jado Baes (welter), Abram Lance Cuvinar (middle)and Keybert Lumbania (heavy) ruled their respective divisions as the Red Jins tallied a total of 101 points to win it all for the eighth straight season.

Lyceum of the Philippines U and St. Benilde wound up with 58 and 48 points, respectively, to finish second and third overall in the men's side.

The Lady Blazers, for their part, finished with 92 points to edge the Lionesses, who had 73 points, to snare their back-to-back women's crown.

The Lady Stags ended up third with 51 points.

Women's MVP Clarrissa Thea Virtudazo scooped the middleweight gold along with Lucille Cunanan (fly), Sophia Alexandra Baniaga (light) and Pauline Marie Cipriano (heavy) to complete St. Benilde's romp.

St. Benilde edged Perpetual Help to reigning supreme in the poomsae event thanks to wins by Tristan Dale Cayago (individual male) and Julien Kate Andal and Tiffany Delizo (team female).

The Altas' triumphs came from Eden Pacificador (individual female) and Jann Ernest Villanueva and Pacificador (mixed pair).


Latest News