Year-end Special: The Best Upsets of 2015 (Part 1)

Paul Lintag on Dec 23, 2015 04:18 PM
Year-end Special: The Best Upsets of 2015 (Part 1)
Where does Conor McGregor's 13-second knockout of Jose Aldo rank in the year's biggest upsets? (AP)

Everybody likes the underdog.

And in sports, there is nothing like a David beating a Goliath in a head-to-head match.

2015 offered a lot of upsets, some pulled it off after only being given a slight chance, while others just came out to completely shock the world.

Nevertheless, these upsets had people talking and made quite a few doubters become believers.


Honorable mention: Pia Wurtzbach wins Ms. Universe.

Pia Wurtzbach winning the 2015 Ms. Universe was not exactly an upset, but a celebration of our country finally winning a title that has eluded us for years. She's no slouch as well, considered as one of the heavy contenders in the entire competition and one of our country's best bets since the whole Philippine renaissance in Ms. Universe started by Venus Raj.

The way she won was the epic one that screamed upset all over. Pia was declared 1st runner-up after Ms. Colombia was announced as winner. Turns out judge Steve Harvey read the verdict wrong and thus the Philippines beat out Colombia, defending champion and Ms. Universe powerhouse, to win the crown. Mabuhay ang Pilipinas.

Okay now on to the real thing.


10. Wisconsin beats Kentucky --- 2015 Final Four.

This was not your usual upset considering that both Wisconsin and Kentucky were number 1 seeds heading into their Final Four matchup during March Madness.

However, the Wildcats were undefeated at 38-0 and were well on their way to the most dominant perfect season in college basketball history. 

That was until they ran into the Tank.

Frank Kaminsky dominated the Wildcats and 2015 no. 1 overall pick Karl Anthony-Towns as the Badgers scored a monumental 71-64 win, they could not finish the job though and lost the Jahlil Okafor and the Duke Blue Devils for the national title. Nevertheless, stopping the Kentucky program was a huge win.


9. Conor McGregor knocks out Jose Aldo in 13 seconds --- UFC 194.

Another upset that didn't really look like one at first glance.

Jose Aldo was the UFC featherweight champion of the world and McGregor was the interim featherweight champion, a title he won over Chad Mendes in UFC 189 after the original bout was postponed due to an Aldo injury.

In the unification bout at UFC 194, McGregor scored the most sensational win of his career with a magnificent 13-second knockout of Aldo, marking the end of the Brazilian's 10-year reign as champion.

It's the age of the Notorious ladies and gentlemen.


8. Foton Tornadoes beat Petron Blaze Spikers in 3 games --- PSL Grand Prix Finals.

Defending champion and top-seed Petron was looking to add to its dynasty when it faced a young Foton team for the PSL title.

It didn't happen.

Instead, Foton cooked up the perfect storm as the Tornadoes won a highly-intense game 1, survived a Petron counterattack in game 2 and then ambushed the former champions in game 3 with a convincing, 25-18, 25-18, 25-17, three-set win.

The Tornadoes won their first PSL title and a new contender has emerged in the Philippine club volleyball scene.


7. Tyson Fury beats Wladimir Klitschko --- Heavyweight championships of the world.

Heavyweight boxing is not as big as it used to be but Wladimir Klitschko is still one of the most dominant champions in the history of the sport. He was basically holding all the world titles!

So when Tyson Fury handed Wladimir his first loss in over a decade via unanimous decision to take the WBA, IBF and WBO heavyweight championships, not to mention the minor IBO belt, it was a big deal as the premier heavyweight of his time finally found his match.

He has since been stripped of the IBF title but Fury beating Klitschko for the heavyweight titles was one of the biggest shockers this year.


6. NU Lady Bulldogs beat Ateneo Lady Eagles in 3 games --- V-League Season 12 Collegiate Conference Finals.

The Lady Eagles are the reigning two-time UAAP champions and have not lost a game since UAAP Season 76. At one point, it looked like they will win all the local tournaments they joined and in convincing fashion.

But during the V-League 12 Collegiate Conference, their cloak of invincibility was removed. The UST Growling Tigresses stole a game in the semifinals and the NU Lady Bulldogs pounced on a staggered Lady Eagles in the finals to claim their first V-League championship.

Myla Pablo led the way for NU as the Lady Bulldogs dropped the hammer with a 25-21, 26-24, 25-19 victory in the decider.

Remember to come back for part 2 to see who made it in the top 5!

Latest News