SEA Games and Para Games winners to be honored by PSA

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 06, 2016 07:08 PM
SEA Games and Para Games winners to be honored by PSA
The Philippines won 29 gold medals in the Singapore Southeast Asian Games and 11 gold medals in the Para Games.

Filipino gold medal winners in the 28th Singapore Southeast Asian Games and their ASEAN Para Games counterparts will be honored with citations for their exploits in the biennial regional meet during the Annual Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Awards Night presented by MILO and San Miguel Corp.

Trackster Eric Shauwn Cray stood at the forefront of the country’s campaign last year by winning a double gold in athletics, including the 100-m century dash of which he became the first Filipino to win the sport’s centerpiece event.

In all, the Philippines won a total of 29 gold medals.

Meanwhile, veterans Ernie Gawilan (swimming) and Adeline Dumapong-Ancheta (powerlifting) spearheaded the 11-gold medal romp the Filipinos bagged in the eight edition of the Para Games also held in The Lion City.

Together, the gold winners make up the bulk of the long list of individuals and entities to be cited by the country’s oldest media organization in the Feb. 13 affair at the Esplanade, with the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) serving as major sponsor.

Twenty eight others will also receive citations during the gala night starting at 7 p.m. and supported by the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., Philippine Basketball Association, Globalport, Rain or Shine, One Esplanade, National University, Maynilad, Smart, MVP Sports Foundation, SM Prime Holdings, Sen. Chiz Escudero, and Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office.

Included in the list of citations are Olympian Michael Christian Martinez, archers Amaya Paz-Cojuangco and Jennifer Chan, marathoners Mary Joy Tabal and Rafael Poliquit, teenage cage sensation Kobe Paras, Batang Gilas, Perlas Pilipinas Dragon Boat team, karateka Kristina Charisse Santiago, riders Kenneth San Andres and Milo Rivera, Ernesto ‘Judes’ Echaus of sailing, shooter Hagen Alexander Topacio, and the Petron volleyball team

The rest are weightlifters Hidilyn Diaz and Nesto Colonia, ALA Boxing Promotions, International Premier Tennis League, Manila North 3x3 team, MVP Sports Foundation, National University Pep Squad, Philippine baseball team, Philippine powerlifting team, Philippine Superliga, SM Lifestyle Entertainment Inc.., tennis patrons Jen Henri Lhuillier, Oscar Hilado, Rommie Chan, and Hanky Lee, and the 2019 FIBA-World hosting team.

Highlight of the night is the awarding of the prestigious Athlete of the Year award to be conferred on co-winners Donnie Nietes, Nonito Donaire Jr., and Miguel Tabuena.

Others to be honored are Gilas Pilipinas, Wushu Federation of the Philippines (NSA of the Year), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo (Mr. Basketball), sports great Filomeno ‘Boy’ Codinera (Lifetime Achievement Award), and the 14 recipients of major awards led  by San Miguel superstar June Mar Fajardo.



Latest News