Letran wins juniors chess crown

ABS-CBN Sports on Sep 18, 2016 05:15 PM
Letran wins juniors chess crown
The Letran Squires pocketed the juniors chess title.

Letran denied San Beda a chess sweep by coming through with an emphatic 4-0 victory to snatch the juniors crown in the 92nd NCAA chess tournament at the Jose Rizal Gymnasium in Mandaluyong City.

Mark Daluz, Melito Ocsan, Eric Yap and Alexis Osena delivered the decisive wins to seal the championship for the Squires, a team mentored by National Master Roland Joseph Perez.

Daluz wound up the juniors MVP.

It was a dramatic title conquest for Letran as it had to beat San Beda, 2.5-1.5, to force the deciding finals game.

The Cubs won their first meeting, 3-1, to clinch the first round pennant but couldn't cash in on their championship opportunities in the second round where they eventually lost to the rejuvinated Squires.

"The boys just kept the faith that they could beat San Beda and they did," said Perez.

It was the second title for Letran after it also topped men's badminton just less than a week back.

San Beda though could console itself with the seniors championship they snared by topping both the first and second round.

Chess was organized by Jose Rizal under its athletic director and Management Committee member Paul Supan.

Latest News