Cojuangco wins 4th term as POC president

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 25, 2016 03:45 PM
Cojuangco wins 4th term as POC president
Jose “Peping” Cojuangco Jr. won his fourth term as Philippine Olympic Committee president. (Photo courtesy of ABS-CBN News)

Jose “Peping” Cojuangco Jr. won his fourth term as president of the Philippine Olympic Committee Friday during the polls held at Wack Wack Golf and Country Club.

Unopposed after the disqualification of boxing president Ricky Vargas, the 82-year-old former Tarlac representative received 26 votes out of the 40 voting members present during the election and will again run the POC for the next four years.

Cojuangco first assumed the position in 2004.

Vargas, who was disqualified by the election committee because he doesn’t qualify as an active member of the country’s Olympic body, lacking active participation on POC’s general assembly, filed a temporary restraining order on the election but was denied Thursday by the Pasig Regional Trial Court.

Vargas snubbed the election.

Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. president Joey Romasanta was elected 1st Vice President with 23 votes compared to the 14 votes collected by Alfredo Benitez.

All other candidates under Cojuangco’s ticket won.

Jeff Tamayo got the 2nd Vice President position with 26 votes against Gen. Lucas Managuelod’s 11. Julian Camacho defeated former PBA Commissioner Sonny Barrios 25-12 as Treasurer while Jonne Go won uncontested and took the position of Auditor.

Cynthia Carrion, Prospero Pichay Jr., Roberto Mananquil and Clint Aranas assumed their positions as Board members.

Latest News