Pocari Sweat leads 40 other recipients of PSA citations

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 06, 2017 05:42 PM
Pocari Sweat leads 40 other recipients of PSA citations
Pocari Sweat will be feted with a special citation by the Philippine Sportswriters Association during its Annual Awards Night next week.

Two-time V-League champion Pocari Sweat leads the long list of citations that will be handed out by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PBA) during its traditional Awards Night presented by San Miguel and MILO next Monday at the LE PAVILLON in Pasay City.

A total of 41 personalities and entities will be cited by the country’s oldest organization in the Feb. 13event also co-presented by CIGNAL/HYPE HD.

On top of the list are the Lady Warriors which dominated the 13th season of the V-League, topping both the Open and Reinforced conferences in their debut season.

Other winners are newly-crowned world boxing champions Jerwin Ancajas and Marlon Tapales, Mixed Martial Arts’ star Michael Brandon Vera, the Philippine Dragon Boat team, wushu bets Divine Wally and Arnel Mandal, and lady boxer Gretchen Abaniel.

Asian Beach Games gold medalists Annie Ramirez and Margarita Ochoa, taekwondo jin Pauline Lopez, and the pair of Olympic boxers Rogen Ladon and Charly Suarez are also recipients of citations in the two-hour program which counts on Smart, Rain or Shine, Phoenix Petroleum, Mighty Sports, Gold Toe, Globalport, Foton, and ICTSI as major sponsors.

Others to be cited are Ernest John Obiena, Chezka Centeno, Criztian Pitt Laurente, Ariana Thea Patrice Dormitorio,  Sofia Chabon, Bernice Olivarez-Ilas, Joseph Myers, Orencio James delos Santos, Jacob Ang, Kenneth San Andres, Juvenile Faye Crisostomo, Patrick John Tierro, Monica Torres, August Benedicto, Ramon ‘Tats’ Suzara, Johnny Tan, National University Lady Bulldogs, National University Pep Squad, RC Cola-Army, and Philippine fencing team.

Completing the list of citations are the Philippine sailing team, Philippine sepak takraw team, Philippine Canoe Kayak Federation, United Football League, Women’s Volleyball League, Pru Life, TV 5, and UNTV.

Weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz leads the top sports achievers of 2016 and is the unanimous choice as PSA Athlete of the Year by virtue of her silver medal feat in the Rio De Janeiro Olympics.

Meanwhile to be recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award in the gala night also backed by the PBA, SM Prime Holdings Inc., Philippine Sports Commission, ACCEL, MVP Sports Foundation, PCSO, Meralco, NLEX, and Federal Land is Asia’s first Grandmaster Eugene Torre.

Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association president Philip Ella Juico will received the Executive of the Year award, while 16 others led by Rio De Janeiro Paralympics bronze medalist Josephine Medina are going to be honored with a major award.

June Mar Fajardo is Mr. Basketball, Mika Reyes is Ms. Volleyball, Miguel Tabuena is Mr. Golf, while Misagh Bahadoran and Jeordan Dominguez are Mr. Football and Mr. Taekwondo, respectively.

Latest News