Vargas ends Cojuangco-era as POC president

ABS-CBN Sports on Feb 23, 2018 04:24 PM
Vargas ends Cojuangco-era as POC president
A new era is coming for the Philippine Olympic Committee. (Photo courtesy of Dyan Castillejo)

Change is coming.

Ricky Vargas defeated incumbent Jose ‘Peping’ Cojuangco Friday as president of the Philippine Olympic Committee in a re-election held at Wack Wack Golf and Country Club.

Vargas, president of Association of Boxing Alliance of the Philippines, tallied 24 votes compared to Cojuangco’s 15 votes coming from representatives from National Sports Associations.

His victory in the re-election, ordered by the Pasig Regional Trial Court after Vargas was favored in his election case filed December last year, ended Cojuangco’s 13-year reign as head of the POC.

Vargas’ ally cycling president Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino won as POC chairman, beating table tennis head Ting Ledesma, 23-15.

The 82-year-old former Tarlac representative Cojuangco won his fourth term as president unopposed during the November 2016 POC election after Vargas was disqualified to run after allegedly failing to meet the qualifications of being active members of the POC general assembly.

Tolentino, who ran as POC chairman during the poll two years ago, was also disqualified for the same reason.

Vargas, whose attempt for a temporary restraining order on the 2016 poll was denied by the Pasig Regional Trial Court, won an election case his camp filed on the same court December last year.  

According to the court decision, the “elections of POC last Nov. 25, 2016 for Chairman and President is null and void” and ordered a reelection.

Latest News