PSC starts search for new Sports Hall of Famers

ABS-CBN Sports on Jul 04, 2018 04:51 PM
PSC starts search for new Sports Hall of Famers
Initial Meeting for 2018 Hall of Fame with (left to right) ABAP Sec.-Gen. Ed Picson, PSI Nat'l Training Director Marc Velasco, SBP Deputy Exec. Director Bernie Atienza, PSC Commissioner Ramon Fernandez, Commissioner Charles Maxey, GAB Boxing Division Head Dioscoro Bautista with Mr. Cesar Cordero, Jr. together with MAP Sec.-Gen. Pearl Managuelod (left seated) and Phil. Olympians Assn. President Akiko Thomson-Guevara (right seated) here at PSC Admin Bldg., RMSC.

The Philippine Sports Commission has announced the start of the search for the third batch of Filipino sports legends to be inducted to the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame.

The agency made the announcement following an initial meeting between PSC Commissioner Ramon Fernandez, Commissioner Charles Maxey, PSI National Training Director Marc Velasco, POC Communications Director and ABAP Secretary General Ed Picson, SBP Deputy Executive Director Bernie Atienza and GAB Boxing Division Head Dioscoro Bautista.

MAP Secretary General Pearl Managuelod and Philippine Olympians Association President and former PSC Commissioner Akiko Thomson-Guevara also attended the meeting, which was held last June 20 at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex in Manila.

“It is mandated by law, and is a good way to honor the sacrifices and achievements of our sports heroes,” said Fernandez.

The Sports Hall of Fame, which aims “to immortalize the Filipino Sports heritage and serve as in inspiration for our countrymen", was established on November 25, 1999, by virtue of RA 8757, signed by former President Joseph Estrada which 

By law, candidates eligible for enshrinement shall be limited to Filipino athletes, coaches and trainers who "have won a gold medal in any Southeast Asian Games, or silver medalist in any Asian Games or Asian Games or regional games, or bronze medalist in any Olympic or World Games, or a world champion in any professional or amateur sports competition.”

The candidates will then be selected by a Screening Committee composed of the PSC Chairman, POC President, GAB Chairman, two (2) representatives from POC-accredited NSAs and two (2) members from the private sector elected by the PSC.

Future Hall of Famers will be determined via election process.  The screening committee has decided to stick with choosing a maximum of 10 enshrinees, as was done in the two previous editions.

In the two past enshrinements, boxing legends Gabriel “Flash” Elorde, Francisco “Pancho Villa” Guilledo, Ceferino Garcia, Jose “Cely” Villanueva and son Anthony Villanueva led the first batch of inductees together with Olympians Miguel White, Simeon Toribio, Teofilo Yldefonso and Carlos Loyzaga have made it to the Hall of Fame.

Latest News