Team PHI records best Arafura Games gold haul

ABS-CBN Sports on Apr 30, 2019 02:50 PM
Team PHI records best Arafura Games gold haul
Team Philippines surpassed its gold haul eight years ago after scooping 28 mints in the 2019 Arafura Games. (Photo courtesy of Team Phil-Arafura Games 2019 Facebook page)

DARWIN, Australia – The Philippines scooped 10 gold medals Monday in the 2019 Arafura Games, surpassing its haul eight years ago when the multisports competition was previously held.

The Filipino athletes finished the third day of competitions with 28 gold medals, exceeding the 27 the country tallied in 2011, the last time the Arafura Games was staged.

The Philippines also has 41 silvers and 24 medals in its campaign here supported by the Philippine Sports Commission and Standard Insurance. 

Zoe Marie Hilario won two gold medals Monday including the women’s 15 to 16 year old 200m backstroke when she recorded a new Arafura Games record of two minutes, 30.63 seconds, breaking the 2:47.69 she set during the heats.

Hilario also ruled the 200m individual medley with a time of 2:28.76. 

Ivo Nikolai Enot tallied his second gold medal when he bagged the men’s 13 to 14 year old 200m backstroke in record time after clocking two minutes, 21.42 seconds, surpassing the Games record of 2:24.70 he set in the heats. 

Ray Martin Yarra and John Martin Yarra also smashed Arafura Games records after winning the men’s 13 to 14 year old 200m butterfly (2:25.59), men’s 17 and over 200m butterfly (2:15.05) respectively. 

John Paul Elises and Samuel Alcos also broke Arafura Games records in ruling the men’s 15 to 16 year old men’s butterfly (2:14.47), and the men’s 17 and over 50m backstroke (29.77) respectively. 

Romel Bautista won the men’s 400m hurdles, while the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay captured the gold in athletics. 

In Muay Thai, Phillip Delarmino and Ryan Jakiri lost in their preliminary bouts.

Boxing starts Wednesday at the Darwin Convention Centre while the basketball team goes up against New Caledonia at the Marrara Indoor Stadium. Ariel Lampacan will also compete in muay at the Darwin Convention Centre.

Latest News