Saso headlines Siklab Awards

ABS-CBN Sports on Aug 30, 2019 05:41 PM
Saso headlines Siklab Awards
Golfer Yuka Saso banners the list of Siklab Sports Youth Awards 2019 honor roll. (File photo)

Reigning girls PGA champion Yuka Saso heads the cast of awardees when the Siklab Sports Youth Awards 2019 honors the future heroes of Philippine sports on September 2 at the Market! Market! Activity Area in BGC, Taguig City.

The 18-year-old Asian Games gold medalist will share the stage with triathlete Andrew Kim Remolino, basketball’s Dave Ildefonso and 18 other athletes from various sports as Siklab Young Heroes along with fencer Maxine Esteban and junior cycling champ Marc Ryan Lago.

Paddlers Christine Mae Talledo and Lealyn Baligasa, members of the PH dragonboat team that won five gold medals in the ICF World Dragonboat Championships, will also be recognized in the event backed by the Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.

Joining them during the gala for the most promising athletes 18 years and younger are International Masters Kylen Mordido and Marvin Miciano, speed skater Julian Kyle Silverio as well as pole vaulter Hokett Delos Santos and wrestler Cadel Evance Hualda.

Organized by the PSC-POC Media Group with Market!Market! and Ayala Malls as venue partners, the second edition of the Siklab Sports Youth Awards will also put the spotlight on Super Kids awardees led by gymnast Karl Eldrew Yulo and IM Daniel Quizon.

Bowlers Norel Nuevo and Grace Gella, who both captured bronze medals in the recent junior world championships, likewise got the recognition that they deserved along with promising skateboarder David Sebastian Chanco and taekwondo jin Ian Matthew Corton.

Receiving the Sports Idols accolade in the event backed by Pagcor this year are track and field icon Elma Muros-Posadas and jujitsu world champion Meggie Ochoa in the event backed by Pagcor while PSC Chairman William Ramirez and Go For Gold head Jeremy Go have been named godfathers of the year.

The PSC Children’s Games for Peace Award is exclusive for the top performers of the 2019 Palarong Pambansa and the Batang Pinoy Games led by archer Naina Dominique Tagle and swimmers Xiandi Chua, Michaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Marc Bryant Dula.

Completing the Young Heroes are shooting’s Denise Basila and Michael Angelo Fernandez, skater Diane Panlilio, Jannah Romero (table tennis), Janzeth Gajo (wushu), Joshua Glenn Bullo (sepak takraw), Lanz Zafra (badminton), Samantha Catantan (fencing) and Solomon Padiz Jr. (badminton).

Sandrex Gaisan (wushu), Lovely Mae Orbeta (darts), Patrick Coo (cycling), Mariel Abuan (athletics), Remond Lofranco (boxing), weightlifter Vanessa Sarno, swimmer Ivo Nikolai Enot and Dylan Valmores (jujitsu) will also receive the elegant Super Kids trophy.

Latest News