Philippine Water Polo Team starts FINA campaign against Ireland

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 07, 2019 03:26 PM
PH Water Polo Team starts FINA campaign vs. Ireland
“Our players are ready to play in this tournament – physically and mentally,” - PH Water Polo coach Rey Galang

Games Today (OCBC Aquatic Centre, Singapore)

2p.m. – India vs Indonesia

4:30 p.m. – Ireland vs Philippines

6 p.m. – Austria vs Chinese Taipei

7:30 p.m. – Singapore vs Zimbabwe


SINGAPORE – After three exhibition matches, the water polo national team now gets to play in actual game as the Filipinos face Ireland at the start of the 2019 FINA Water Polo Challengers’ Cup today at the OCBC Aquatic Centre here.

The national team defeated Zimbabwe 16-2 Monday morning, and hammered an 8-5 victory versus Malaysia – bronze medalist in the last Southeast Asian Games in KL – in the afternoon session.

Another friendly game is set against India a day before the start of the 10-nation tournament.

Philippine water polo coach Rey Galang said the players are ready considering the execution on offense and solid defense the national team displayed in the first two exhibition games.

“Our players are ready to play in this tournament – physically and mentally,” said Galang, who has former national team player standout Dale Evangelista as part of the coaching staff.

“We know we’re up against a team that is taller and bigger than our players, but I know we have the skills to match up with our opponent,” he added.

The national team takes on Ireland at 4:30 p.m., right after the 2 p.m. game between India and Indonesia, while Austria and Chinese Taipei clash at 6 p.m. before Zimbabwe faces host Singapore at 7:30 p.m.

The team’s participation in this event, made possible by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) and the Philippine Swimming Inc. (PSI), is part of training for the Filipinos as they prepare for the 30th SEA Games the country is hosting on Nov. 30 to Dec. 11.

Part of the 13-man team are captain Tani Gomez, Roy Cañete, Mico Anota, Adan Gonzales, Matthew Yu, Macgyver Reyes, Mark Valdez, Aljon Salonga, Romark Belo, Paolo Serrano, Abnel Amiladjid, Mummar Alamara and Fil-Am Vince Sicat.

Latest News