Five new teams join MPBL even as Manda takes leave of absence

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 05, 2019 04:51 PM
Five new teams join MPBL; Manda takes leave of absence
30 teams will wage war in the MPBL Lakandula Cup

Thirty is now the exact number of participating teams for the upcoming Lakandula Cup as even more new squads signed up to complete the ideal even number of participants in the MPBL.

First up was Sarangani which signed on a week ago. “I think this is the first time that Sarangani will be represented,” said team owner Pastor Joel Dutaro.

“This is a historic signing of the Sarangani Province in the MPBL. Makikita ng buong Pilipinas every time na may game ang Sarangani kung anong klaseng probinsiya ba sila,” said league commissioner Duremdes.     

Two days later, Iloilo and Nueva Ecija became the fourth and fifth expansion squads to join the upcoming season.

Early in the offseason, both Nueva Ecija and Mindoro were already admitted entry into the MPBL.

Nueva Ecija replaced Mandaluyong which unfortunately wasn’t able to fulfill its requirements to continue participation.

The El Tigre were given until last Thursday to settle its dues, but Banjo Calpito, who was supposed to take over as the franchise head, failed to live up to his commitment.

Latest News