Pacquaio gifts MPBL teams with three tickets each to his fight vs Thurman

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Jun 11, 2019 01:22 PM
Pacquaio gifts MPBL teams with tickets to Thurman fight
Manny Pacquiao will have the MPBL team owners right behind him in his fight vs Keith Thurman

Manny Pacquiao has given away 93 tickets to his upcoming fight against Keith Thurman.

Those free tickets have been awarded to each and every one of the 31 teams of Pacquiao's fledgling regional league, the MPBL.

According to the Philippines' fighting senator, he has gifted all of the participating squads in the MPBL Lakan Cup three tickets apiece to the WBA Super Welterweight Championship bout on July 20 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas. "Tulad ng in-announce ko na sa inyo, may tig-tatlong ticket kayo sa fight ko," he told team owners in his league's preseason press conference last Sunday.

That means that a total of 93 tickets, three for each and every one of the 31 teams, had been given away by Pacquiao.

That is, if the team owners have already fulfilled their requirements. "Nandyan na yung mga ticket, ibibigay na sa inyo," he said.

He then continued, clearly kidding, of course, "Pero siyempre, kumpletuhin niyo muna bayad ninyo bago makuha yung ticket."

Keeping the good times rolling, the eight-division champion made it clear that the tickets he was gifting was for the fight and for the fight alone. "Bahala na kayo sa pagpunta sa States ha," he said.

He then continued, through chuckles, "Kung gusto niyong pumuntang Las Vegas, ngayon pa lang, umpisahan niyo nang maglakad."

Turning serious, however, Pacquiao said those tickets were essentially his thank you to the team owners for their continued support of the MPBL. As he put it, "Binili ko yan para sa mga team owners para magkaroon sila ng pagkakataong mapanood ako," he said.

Before the fight, the owner and founder of the Philippines' grandest regional league as well as the team owners will be present in the Lakan Cup's opening ceremonies, Wednesday at MOA Arena.

As always, all of the action will be on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 183, iWant and TFC.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News