MPBL opens newest, biggest season Wednesday at MOA Arena

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 12, 2019 11:06 AM
MPBL opens newest, biggest season Wednesday at MOA Arena
In 5, 4, 3, 2... MPBL na ulit!

Davao and Zamboanga, two teams which made headway in the season just passed of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League, take center stage on opening night of the third season.

The two teams square off at 8:00 p.m. right before the curtain-raiser between Bicol, one of the newest teams in the league, and a retooled Basilan squad that is ready to make its presence felt in the Lakan Cup.

As always, all of the action will be on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 183, and iWant.

For the Tigers, playing right away after losing a painful finals match against the San Juan Knights would be a great opportunity to show their hunger and desire to get back quickly and do the work.

They’ll be parading an almost intact line up and a few more key additions that include Yvan Ludovice, Richard Albo, Marco Balagtas, and Chester Saldua.

But the Valientes are no pushovers either with Harold Arboleda, Robin Roño, and Reed Juntilla holding down the fort.

Bicol, one of the six expansion teams joining this season, will have a baptism of fire taking on Basilan, the busiest team in the offseason, at 6:00 p.m.

The Volcanoes will be headed by ex-pros Ronjay Buenafe and Alex Nuyles, but will face off with the Steel who added All-Star Jay Collado, Allyn Bulanadi, Philip Manalang, Leo Gabo, Bobby Balucanag, Jett Vidal, Shaq Alanes, Michole Sorela, and Jonathan Uyloan.

A colorful opening ceremony highlighted by the parade of 31 teams will kick off the newest and biggest season of the MPBL at 4:00 p.m.

Latest News