Austin Spurs claim 2017-18 NBA G League championship

ABS-CBN Sports on Apr 11, 2018 10:39 AM
Austin Spurs claim 2017-18 NBA G League championship
Photo c/o @NBA

The Austin Spurs dethroned defending champions Raptors 905, pulling off a two-game sweep to become the new NBA G League titlists.

After winning game one 105-93 on Monday (PHL time), the Spurs opened up a 28-18 first quarter and never looked back, leading by as much as 30 points in the series clincher.

It's the Spurs' second G League (previously the D-League) championship.

Five Spurs scored in double-figures, led by Nick Johnson off the bench, who scored 17 points, thanks in part to a 5-of-6 clip on three's. Jeff Ledbetter added 16 points in 16 minutes, Jaron Blossomgame chipped in 15 markers, while Olivier Hanlan and Darrun Hilliard contributed 14 and 12, respectively.

Johnson was named Finals MVP.

Malcolm Miller and Kaza Keane led the Raptors with 12 points each.

The Spurs finished as the Western Conference champions, thanks to a 32-18 record. They topped the Rio Grand Valley Vipers in the conference semifinals 117-91, then dispatched the upset-hunting South Bay Lakers 104-93 to enter the Finals.

Latest News