Kerr honored for excellence on court, cooperation with media

ABS-CBN Sports on May 22, 2018 11:12 AM
Kerr honored for excellence on court, cooperation with media
FILE - OAKLAND, CA - JUNE 2: Head Coach Steve Kerr of the Golden State Warriors addresses the media against the Cleveland Cavaliers during the 2016 NBA Finals Game One on June 2, 2016 at ORACLE Arena in Oakland, California. (Photo by Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images)

By The Associated Press

Golden State’s Steve Kerr has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, given to an NBA coach in recognition of his cooperation with media and fans, as well as excellence on the court.

The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced the winner Tuesday (Wednesday, PHL time). The award is named for Tomjanovich, the former Houston Rockets coach.

Kerr, who also won the award in 2015, beat out fellow finalists Brad Stevens of Boston, Mike D’Antoni of Houston, Doc Rivers of the Los Angeles Clippers and Steve Clifford of Charlotte in voting by PBWA members.

The Warriors have won two of the last three NBA titles under Kerr and have a 2-1 lead in the Western Conference finals over Houston. The PBWA said Kerr encourages players to express themselves and is generous with his time with the working press.

Latest News