Last 2 Minutes report says refs missed late call on Draymond

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 02, 2018 06:33 PM
Last 2 Minutes report says refs missed late call on Draymond
Cleveland Cavaliers forward LeBron James, center, dribbles between Golden State Warriors forward Kevon Looney, left, and forward Draymond Green during the second half of Game 1 of basketball's NBA Finals in Oakland, Calif., Thursday, May 31, 2018. (AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez)

The NBA's Last 2 Minutes report says game officials missed a foul on Draymond Green with 12.1 seconds left in regulation when he was defending LeBron James.

According to the officiating report, Green grabbed James' arm and affected his freedom of movement, but the foul was incorrectly not called.

Had it been noticed by officials, the whistle would have sent James to the line, avoiding the sequence where George Hill was fouled by Klay Thompson, but only split his charities, with JR Smith then getting the rebound, but allowing time to expire.

James was 8-of-9 on free throws prior to overtime, where he was 2-of-2.

The report also noted a lane violation, also by Green, during the Hill missed free throw, but presumably because Smith snagged the rebound, the no-call was deemed "incidental or immaterial."

The report also re-iterated the NBA referees' official position on the changing of the call on LeBron James, which went from a charge to a block after video review with 36.4 seconds left. It said, "The crew was not reasonably certain whether James was in the restricted area after an offensive foul was called against [Kevin] Durant. Upon replay review, it was confirmed that James was outside the restricted area. The referees also reviewed whether James was in a legal guarding position, which is an additional reviewable matter for this replay trigger. Replay showed James was not in a legal guarding position because he was turning his body and moving into Durant when contact occurred. Thus the initial call on the floor was overturned and James was assessed a blocking foul."

Some fans online, and the Cavaliers themselves, dispute the notion that the referees were unsure whether or not was in the restricted area, as game footage showed James was well away from the half-circle.

Latest News