EAC's Munsayac says hit on San Beda's Soberano unintentional

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Jul 02, 2015 07:48 PM
EAC's Munsayac says hit on San Beda's Soberano unintentional
QUESTIONABLE CALL. Francis Munsayac may be forced to sit out the next game after incurring a disqualifying foul late in the San Beda-EAC match-up.

In his first game back a year after recovering from a severe knee injury, Francis Munsayac immediately took control of Emilio Aguinaldo College's point guard position by collecting 20 points, including four triples.

However, his effort ended with his Generals bowing to five-peat champions San Beda College. Making things worse, Munsayac was on the wrong end of a questionable call late in the game and was sent out of the playing court.

The Red Lions were employing non-stop full court pressure and AC Soberano forced the EAC guard to lose possession. As Soberano tried lunging for the ball which was on its way bouncing outside, his face met Munsayac's elbow and forearm.

Following a review, game officials assessed a disqualifying foul on the General for hitting a player above the shoulder. Munsayac was visibly frustrated while contesting the call, but was ultimately sent back to the dugout.

After the game, the EAC guard was still frustrated with how his return ended as he begrudgingly told ABS-CBN Sports, "Naiinis ako sa nangyari. ‘Di ko naman kasi talaga ginusto yun."

He then added, “Pagtapos ng call, lumapit ako kay coach Jamike (Jarin). Sabi ko, ‘Sorry, coach. ‘Di ko sadya.’ Sabi naman niya, ‘Ref, ‘di naman sadya.’ Pero ayaw na talaga baguhin e.”

Munsayac is also worried about the corresponding sanctions of the questionable call because NCAA rules state that a player will have to sit out the next game after incurring a disqualifying foul if it isn’t overturned by the league.

For his part, Soberano shared with ABS-CBN Sports that he thought Munsayac intentionally extended his elbow and forearm after the play happened. When the two of the met post-game, however, Soberano was then re-assured that Munsayac meant no harm.

’Di naman daw niya sinasadya. Okay lang sa akin yun kasi part of the game naman yun,” he said.

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News