What exactly makes an NCAA All-Star?

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 19, 2015 07:52 PM
What exactly makes an NCAA All-Star?
HANDPICKED. NCAA All-Stars and side event competitors were selected by their own school to represent them.

For only the second time in its 91-year history, the NCAA will have an All-Star Game pitting the East against the West.

The delineation is based on geographical location with the East formed by Arellano University, Jose Rizal University, San Beda College, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, and University of Perpetual Help and the West made up of Colegio de San Juan de Letran, College of St. Benilde, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Lyceum of the Philippines University, and Mapua Institute of Technology.

Each school will have three All-Stars and one representative each for the Three-Point Shootout and Slam Dunk Contest. And no, unlike the NBA and PBA, All-Star participants aren’t determined by fan vote.

“Bawat school, bahala na mamili kung sino yung gusto nilang representative,” league management committee chair Melchor Divina told ABS-CBN Sports.

Following that clarification, it means that the following All-Stars and side event competitors were the ones chosen by their schools to represent them:

Arellano: Jiovani Jalalon, Zach Nicholls, Kent Salado, Ken Zamora (Three-Point), Dioncee Holts (Slam Dunk)

JRU: Abdul Wahab Abdul Razak, Jordan Dela Paz, Teytey Teodoro, Paolo Pontejos (Three-Point), Kim Aurin (Slam Dunk)

San Beda: Art dela Cruz, Ryusei Koga, Michole Sorela (also Slam Dunk), AC Soberano (Three-Point),

San Sebastian: Michael Calisaan, Bradwyn Guinto, Jamil Ortuoste, Ryan Costelo (Three-Point), Allen Bulanadi (Slam Dunk)

Perpetual: Bright Akhuetie, Gab Dagangon, Scottie Thompson, Gerald Dizon (Three-Point), Prince Eze (Slam Dunk)

Letran: Marc Cruz (also Three-Point), Rey Nambatac, Kevin Racal, Rey Publico (Slam Dunk)

CSB: Jonathan Grey, JR Ongteco, Fons Saavedra, Travis Jonson (Three-Point), Yankee Haruna (Slam Dunk)

EAC: Christ Mejos, Francis Munsayac, Sidney Onwubere, Jozhue General (Three-Point), Laminou Hamadou (Slam Dunk)

Lyceum: Shaq Alanes, Wilson Baltazar (also Three-Point), Joseph Gabayni, Jebb Bulawan (Slam Dunk)

Mapua: JP Nieles, Allwell Oraeme (also Slam Dunk), Justin Serrano, Exy Biteng (Three-Point),

Divina further explained that based on what happened this year and last, it was the team coach and manager who made the decisions.

As for the head coaches for the All-Star Game, Jamike Jarin for the East and Aldin Ayo for the West, Divina said, “Kung sino pinakamaraming panalo sa East tsaka sa West.” Ayo’s Knights and Jarin’s Red Lions are 1-2 in the standings after the first round.

Meanwhile, the NCAA official shared that the midseason event is actually a fundraiser to help Hospicio de San Jose. “Para sa charity ito. Yung proceeds, ibibigay naming sa Hospicio which is our adopted community,” he said.

The league plans to make turn the All-Star Game into an annual tradition. As Divina put it, “Expect na yearly na talaga ito.”


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News