Mapua’s Oraeme pacing NCAA MVP race

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 25, 2015 03:55 PM
Mapua’s Oraeme pacing NCAA MVP race
ON TOP. Allwell Oraeme is number one in the MVP race.

A surprising name is in front of the MVP race in the NCAA 91 Men's Basketball Tournament.

While Mapua Institute of Technology is currently on the outside looking in the top five, they also boast of the current league-leader in terms of Statistical Points (SPs): Allwell Oraeme.

The Cardinals’ Nigerian reinforcement has 676 SPs built from a total of 158 points, 172 rebounds, and a league-best 38 blocks. San Beda College’s Art Dela Cruz is trailing by 30 points with 646 SPs composed of a total of 177 points, 113 rebounds, and 55 assists.

Reigning MVP Scottie Thompson of University of Perpetual Help is third with 633 SPs followed by Perpetual’s Bright Akhuetie (613) and Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s Rey Nambatac (513).

However, Oraeme needs to lift his team to wins as among the top five, he has the least won games with only four. A player will only be named MVP if he brings his team into the Final Four.

Others in the top 10 are Arellano University’s Jiovani Jalalon, Letran’s Mark Cruz, San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Bradwyn Guinto, San Beda’s Art Dela Cruz, and Letran's Kevin Racal.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News