NCAA Final Four begins with Battle of Intramuros

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 20, 2015 02:34 AM
NCAA Final Four begins with Battle of Intramuros
WHO OWNS THE WALLED CITY? Letran and Mapua set a Battle of Intramuros in the biggest of stages at the NCAA Final Four.

Games on Tuesday at the MOA Arena

12:00 PM – Malayan vs Arellano

2:00 PM – Letran vs Mapua

4:00 PM – San Beda vs JRU

Right after successfully returning to the Final Four, Colegio de San Juan de Letran is immediately put to the test when they are pitted against presently the hottest team in the 91st Season of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Boasting a 9-1 since the start of the second round, the Mapua Institute of Technology Cardinals seek to keep their dream run going while the Knights seek to hand them a rude awakening on Tuesday at the MOA Arena.

The season’s biggest Battle of Intramuros tips-off at 2:00 PM and all of the action will be broadcast LIVE on ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23 as well as streamed LIVE on

Letran has dropped two of its last three outings, with both losses coming against archrival San Beda College. Still, Mark Cruz and Kevin Racal remain as hungry as ever to end their collegiate careers with a much-awaited championship.

With Rey Nambatac coming off a spate of injuries, however, Mapua’s wrecking crew of a backcourt will go all out to take advantage. While Josan Nimes remains steady and Allwell Oraeme has proven to be the MVP frontrunner, it has been the emergence and bravado of guys like Darell Menina, CJ Isit, JP Nieles, and Exi Biteng which has powered the season hosts’ dream run.

In Juniors action at 12:00 PM, the Malayan High School Red Robins and Arellano High School Braves duel for the right to advance into the Finals.

Waiting there is six-time defending champion San Beda High School who own a thrice-to-beat advantage after sweeping the elimination round.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News