#HakotSaNCAA as Oraeme wins MVP, RoY, and DPoY

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 23, 2015 05:28 PM
#HakotSaNCAA as Oraeme wins MVP, RoY, and DPoY
#HakotSaNCAA. Allwell Oraeme will be taking home five trophies - Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Defensive Team, and Mythical Team.

Even after they were booted out from the 91st Season of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament, Mapua Institute of Technology were still able to emphatically re-announce their return to contention with their man in the middle sweeping all the awards he was eligible for.

Allwell Oraeme was hailed as Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, and Defensive Player of the Year all on Friday at the MOA Arena. Of course, a Mythical Team selection was also included.

Reacting to his sweep, Oraeme had difficulty expressing his thoughts. “I’m still in shock. It’s just a great feeling right now,” he told ABS-CBN Sports.

The 19-year-old Nigerian shared that he was hoping he would win DPoY, but never imagined winning a total of four awards. “I had to ask myself, ‘Wow! Is this for real,’” he said, describing how he felt when he first learned about his sweep.

It was the first time in recent history that one player bagged a total of four awards. The last who came close was 2006 MVP-RoY Sam Ekwe of San Beda College.

Only the Most Improved Player did not come home to Intramuros. Instead, the trophy was claimed by San Sebastian College-Recoletos second-year do-it-all forward Michael Calisaan who beat out Jose Rizal University’s fearless gunslinger Teytey Teodoro.

Joining Oraeme in the Mythical team are Art Dela Cruz of San Beda, Bright Akhuetie and Scottie Thompson of University of Perpetual Help, and Jiovani Jalalon of Arellano University.

Meanwhile, the Juniors MVP also comes from Mapua in the form of Mike Enriquez. Rounding out the Juniors Mythical team are Enriquez teammate Sherwin Concepcion, San Beda’s Sam Abuhijle, and Arellano’s Guillmer Dela Torre and Carlo Abadeza.

Lars Sunga of the Braves also earned the Rookie of the Year nod while Maui Cruz of Emilio Aguinaldo College grabbed the Most Improved Player accolade.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News