San Beda and Letran settle score in Finals

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 23, 2015 08:45 AM
San Beda and Letran settle score in Finals
NEVER GETS OLD. Of course, it had to be San Beda-Letran in the Finals of this awesome NCAA Season 91.

Games on Friday at the MOA Arena

2:00 PM – San Beda vs Arellano (Jrs.)

4:00 PM – San Beda vs Letran (Srs.)

In what could only be the most fitting end to an awesome 91st Season of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament, old-time foes San Beda College and Colegio de San Juan de Letran engage in a best-of-three duel for all the glory.

The Red Lions aim for an unprecedented sixth consecutive championship while the Knights aim for a first title in over a decade starting on Friday at the MOA Arena.

Game One of the Dream Finals tips-off at 4:00 PM and all of the action will be broadcast LIVE on ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23 as well as streamed LIVE on

All season long, the archrivals have been duking it out for the top spot and as such, have already met three times prior with San Beda winning the two most recent matchups.

The biggest difference, literally, in those couple of wins is a fully healthy Ola Adeogun who re-imposed his dominance down low to fully make up for the substandard performances from Art Dela Cruz and Baser Amer.

Still, Letran arguably boasts the most potent core in the league led by Mark Cruz and Kevin Racal who want nothing more than to end their collegiate careers with a championship after already having come so close.

Back in 2012 and 2013, the Knights fell to the Lions in the Finals.

Meanwhile, the San Beda High School Red Cubs are also out to make their own history when they start their Finals battle with first-timers Arellano High School Braves at 2:00 PM.

San Beda is gunning for a seventh straight championship and will once again rely on a balanced attack that delivered them a thrice-to-beat advantage after sweeping the eliminations. Trying to buck history will be Guillmer Dela Torre and Arellano who booked their first-ever ticket to the championship round after consecutively downing College of St. Benilde-La Salle Greenhills and Malayan High School.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News