Red Cubs set record seventh consecutive championship

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 29, 2015 04:04 PM
Red Cubs set record seventh consecutive championship
ALL-AROUND SUCCESS. San Beda fell one game short of a perfect season, but they still come away with a league record seventh consecutive championship.

As the cliché goes, it’s not about the fall, but the rise after the fall.

San Beda High School made certain that the first setback they suffered the last time around would be their only in the NCAA 91 Juniors Basketball Tournament as they finished off the Arellano High School Braves, 70-61, on Thursday at the MOA Arena.

With their close out of the Finals series in only three games, the Red Cubs finished the season a stellar 20-1 all the way to a league record seventh consecutive championship. “Fulfilling kasi eto talaga yung gusto naming goal,” coach JB Sison said in his post-game conference.

Arellano again got off to a hot start and were up, 32-30, at halftime before eventual Finals MVP Evan Nelle and Ed Velasquez merged for 12 points in a 22-point third quarter for the Red Cubs. The first and only 20-point period for either team proved to be the difference between the two teams.

Showcasing the deep and balanced attack that powered their sweep of the elimination round, Germy Mahinay topped the scoring column with 15 points off the bench while Nelle posted 13 points, three assists, eight rebounds, two steals, and two blocks.

Sison said the championship was all that mattered and they didn’t mind falling short of a perfect season. “’Di namin gino-goal na sweep. Championship talaga gusto namin,” he said.


SAN BEDA 70 - Mahinay 15, Nelle 13, Velasquez 12, Etrata 8, Bordeus 8, Abuhijle 6, Tagala 4, Nayve 2, Dela Rosa 2, Barbero 0.

ARELLANO 61 - Dela Torre 15, Sunga 13, Tamayo 12, Abadeza 9, Fornis 5, Dañas 3, Espiritu 2, Bataller 2, Velasco 0, Calapine 0.

QUARTER SCORES: 14-17, 30-32, 52-49, 70-61.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News