In face of coaching carousel, Jarin, four others staying put

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 28, 2015 01:10 PM
In face of coaching carousel, Jarin, four others staying put
NO CHANGE. Five of the 10 NCAA schools will not be replacing their coaches for next season.

There is a good chance that only five of the 10 coaches who shepherded their squads in the NCAA 91 Men’s Basketball Tournament will be coming back for next season.

Aldin Ayo transferred from Colegio de San Juan de Letran to De La Salle University, Andy de Guzman and Aric del Rosario are no longer in Emilio Aguinaldo College and University of Perpetual Help, and Rodney Santos and Vergel Meneses are uncertain to return to San Sebastian College and Jose Rizal University.

That leaves five coaches who will be manning the same post for sure next season: Jamike Jarin in San Beda College, Atoy Co in Mapua Institute of Technology, Jerry Codinera in Arellano University, Gabby Velasco in College of St. Benilde, and Topex Robinson in Lyceum of the Philippines University.

There were whispers that at least one UAAP school was talking with Jarin about a transfer. Talking to ABS-CBN Sports, however, he assured the faithful in Mendiola, “I love my Beda boys too much.”

For his part, Robinson said he has no plans for a homecoming to his alma mater San Sebastian – at least not yet. “Definitely staying here (in LPU),” he said.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.


Latest News