Mojica grabs second straight MVP recognition

Mark Escarlote on Jan 26, 2016 12:52 PM
Mojica grabs second straight MVP recognition
Howard Mojica of Emilio Aguinaldo College claims his second straight Most Valuable Player title.

Howard Mojica of defending champion Emilio Aguinaldo College brushed off the competition to capture his second straight Most Valuable Player award in the 91st NCAA men’s volleyball competition.

The power-spiking General was unstoppable in eight of the nine matches he saw action with in the elims, scoring a total of 179 points accumulated from his league-best 150 kills and 18 service aces with 11 coming off kill blocks.

Richard Tolentino of San Sebastian registered 165 points to sit behind Mojica with 147 spikes, 15 kill blocks and three aces. 

Mojica also bagged the Best Scorer,  Best Spiker and Best Server awards.

The Generals banked on Mojica’s monster numbers to finish the elims with an 8-1 record tied with Perpetual Help. EAC took the no. 1 seed in the Final Four after a repeat win against the Altas in a playoff before booting out San Beda in the semis to reach its fourth straight championship appearance and a third Finals clash with Perpetual in the past four years.        

Mojica, also last year’s Best Scorer, Best Spiker and Finals MVP, topped the attacking department with a 50.51% success rate or a 150-of-297 clip ahead of Bonjomar Castel of Perpetual (70-of-147 or 47.62%). 

Mojica also led the field in service aces with a 0.56 average per frame better than his teammate Hariel Doguna (0.34 per set average).

Mapua’s Angelino Pertierra of Mapua got the Best Blocker recognition with a 0.73 kill blocks per frame followed by Arellano’s Kevin Liberato (0.63).

Playmaker John Carlo Desuyo of San Beda was a revelation as he carried last year’s winless Red Spikers to a decent finish with his league-best average of 6.97 excellent sets per frame coming from 258 running sets and 655 still setups for the Best Setter citation.     

Mapua libero Dion Canlas (Best Digger) averaged 2.70 perfect digs per frame while Ajian Dy of CSB (Best Receiver) was the most efficient receiver in the elims with 32.08% of perfect receptions.

San Sebastian's Walt Amber Gervacio is the season's Rookie of the Year.

In the junior division, Ralph Joshua Pitogpo may fell short of leading the EAC Brigadiers to a title but still won for himself the MVP and rookie of the year awards.

Pitogo also got the Best Blocker recognition while teammates Michael Vince Imperial and CeeJay Hicap won Best Server and Best Receiver, respectively.

Ryuji Etorma and Gabriel Casana of back-to-back champion Perpetual Help were named Best Spiker and Best Setter, respectively, while Aldimal Waham (Best Scorer) and Roldan Barrie (Best Digger) of Arellano University wind up the list of winners.              



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News