Lady Blazers, Lady Stags slug it out in NCAA title decider

Mark Escarlote on Jan 27, 2016 11:43 PM
Lady Blazers, Lady Stags slug it out in NCAA title decider
Only the hungrier team between the San Sebastian College Lady Stags and the College of St. Benilde Lady Blazers will earn the right to be called NCAA champions.

San Sebastian College and College of St. Benilde clash for the last time Thursday for the right to claim the 91st NCAA women's volleyball competition title in Game 4 of their championship series at The Arena in San Juan.

The Lady Stags and Lady Blazers put everything on the line in an explosive finale of the NCAA indoor volleyball season.

Game time is slated at 3:30 p.m.

All eyes are set once again on back-to-back Most Valuable Player Grethcel Soltones as the SSC-R main hitter exploded for 31 points last Tuesday in the Lady Stags’ 25-22, 25-19, 26-28, 25-23 Game 3 victory that extended the series.

Soltones received enough support from her teammates to notch the squad’s first win in the championship series after the erstwhile thrice-to-beat Lady Stags surrendered the series opener, 26-24, 21-25, 19-25, 13-25, and Game 2 of the Finals, 23-25, 25-21, 22-25, 16-25, to the much taller Lady Blazers.

San Sebastian coach Roger Gorayeb said their recent victory will serve them well, adding that the pressure is now on CSB’s side to make the necessary adjustments.

“We are more relaxed than them,” he said.

Gorayeb, the architect of 22 of the Lady Stags’ 23 titles overall, is confident that as long as his wards play the way they played the last time, they will take the championship back to their Recto-based campus after four years.      

“Equal footing na ‘yang isa’t isa. Pero kung ganyan ang lalaruin namin siyempre palagay ko naman na kaya naming mag-champion. Pero sinisigurado ko na ganyan (ang lalaruin namin),” he said.

But CSB won’t give up their chance of making history.

The Lady Blazers, who got their post-season four-game winning streak snapped, are yet to win a title.  

Graduating players Janine Navarro and Djanel Cheng are expected to go all out together with Jeannette Panaga, Ranya Musa and Chloe Santillan to give the Taft-based squad a taste of their first championship since joining the league in 1998.    



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News