Nambatac again aiming to replace Cruz in NCAA All-Star 3-Point Shootout

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 05, 2016 07:25 PM
Nambatac again aiming to replace Cruz in 3-Point Shootout
LIGHTS OUT. With Mark Cruz gone, the Three-Point Shootout crown in the NCAA All-Star is up for grabs.

Just like he’s doing right now with Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Rey Nambatac is once more in position to take the place of Mark Cruz.

With Cruz now taking his talents to the PBA, this year’s lead Knight has put himself among the frontrunners to claim the vacant throne in the 2016 NCAA All-Star Three-Point Shootout on August 12 at the San Juan Arena.

Right there with him, however, are last year’s runner-up Wilson Baltazar of Lyceum of the Philippines University, Zach Nicholls of Arellano University, and AC Soberano of archrival San Beda College.

The breakout player of San Sebastian College-Recoletos, RK Ilagan, will also join in on the fun.

Other contestants are College of St. Benilde’s Carlo Young, Jose Rizal University’s Paolo Evardo, Mapua Institute of Technology’s Exe Biteng and University of Perpetual Help’s McKevin Velasquez.

Meanwhile, the first-ever Skills Challenge championship will also be on the line.

Vying for the win are Kraniel Villoria (Arellano), Franz Pasamente (CSB), Raymund Pascua (EAC), MJ Dela Virgen (JRU), Matthew Bernabe (Letran), Ian Alban (LPU), Almel Orquina (Mapua), Flash Sadiwa (Perpetual), Radge Tongco (San Beda), and Ryan Costelo (San Sebastian).

Catch the NCAA Season 92 All-Star Game and side events on August 12, Friday, 1 pm LIVE on ABS-CBN Sports+Action channel 23, ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD channel 166 and via livestream on


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News