Hayes reminds NCAA about his ‘marvelous-ness’ with Shooting Stars W

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 12, 2016 04:45 PM
Hayes reminds us about ‘marvelous-ness’ in Shooting Stars
MARVELOUS. Marvin Hayes gave a glimpse of how impressive he was back when he was a JRU Heavy Bomber in the All-Star Shooting Stars.

Gary David and Alvin Teng were back in uniform for Lyceum of the Philippines University and Arellano University, respectively, but it was a lesser-known former pro that stole the spotlight in the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament All-Star.

Donning the Jose Rizal University jersey on the NCAA court once more, Marvin Hayes led the Heavy Bombers to the first-ever Shooting Stars win on Friday at the San Juan Arena.

Hayes, currently playing for Globalport in the PBA, guided Heavy Bomber Darius Estrella and Light Bomber Cadell Buno to the best qualifying time of 43.4 seconds. Then in the Finals, they edged out University of Perpetual Help.

Nothing but excited to be playing in the NCAA, albeit a Skills Showcase event, a beaming “Marvelous Marvin” told reporters, “Masaya na after seven years, nakabalik ako rito,” he said.

He then continued, “Na-miss ko yung court. Na-miss ko yung lahat.”

Hayes and JRU bested the LPU team made up of David, Shaq Alanes, and McLaude Guadana as well as the Arellano squad comprised of Teng, Donald Gumaru, and Guilmer dela Torre.

Other participants were College of St. Benilde’s Roy Billanes, Amado San Juan (Seniors) and Joel Cagulangan (Juniors), Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Ferdinand Melacoton, Jerald Serrano (Seniors) and Maui Cruz (Juniors); Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s Ronjay Enrile, Jerrick Balanza (Seniors) and Stacy TIbayan (Juniors);

Mapua Institute of Technology’s Randy Alcantara, Darell Menina (Seniors) and Jasper Salenga (Juniors), University of Perpetual Help’s Doy Javier together with Flash Sadiwa (Seniors) and Gielo Razon (Juniors), San Beda College’s Jenkins Mesina, Javee Mocon (Seniors) and Prince Etrata (Juniors), and San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Nandy Navarro, Ian Valdez (Seniors) and Kobe Canoy (Juniors).


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News