New Slam Dunk, 3-Point kings to be crowned in NCAA All-Star

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 12, 2016 07:47 AM
New Slam Dunk, 3-Point kings to be crowned in NCAA All-Star
PUT ON A SHOW. Yankie Haruna and Lervin Flores, among others, are set to show off their hops in the Slam Dunk Contest in the NCAA All-Star.

Games on Friday at the San Juan Arena

1:00 PM – Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, Three-Point Shootout, Slam Dunk Contest

4:00 PM – All-Star Game

With the winners the last time around unable to defend their championship, Slam Dunk runner-up Yankie Haruna and Three-Point second-placer Wilson Baltazar are nothing but determined to stake claim to their respective vacant thrones in the NCAA 92 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Nothing will come easy for both of them, however, as several other names are also preparing to steal the spotlight in All-Star Friday at the San Juan Arena.

The All-Star Skills Showcase commences at 1:00 PM and all of the action will be broadcast LIVE on ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23 as well as streamed LIVE on

Haruna of College of St. Benilde is gunning for the Slam Dunk crown which Jebb Bulawan would not be able to keep due to injury.

Also looking to come through are Lervin Flores from Arellano University, Sidney Onwubere from Emilio Aguinaldo College, and Eugene Toba from San Beda College.

Other contestants are Jose Rizal University’s Kim Aurin, Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s Renato Ular, Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Jaycee Marcelino, University of Perpetual Help’s Rommel Mangalino, and San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Allyn Bulanadi.

Before the Slam Dunk Contest, LPU’s Baltazar will be shooting for the Three-Point title vacated by now PBA pointman Mark Cruz.

Standing in his way are Letran’s Rey Nambatac, Arellano’s Zach Nicholls, and San Beda’s AC Soberano.

Also competing are College of St. Benilde’s Carlo Young, Jose Rizal University’s Paolo Evardo, Mapua Institute of Technology’s Exe Biteng, San Sebastian College-Recoletos' RK Ilagan, and University of Perpetual Help’s McKevin Velasquez.

Meanwhile, the first-ever Skills Challenge championship will also be on the line.

Vying for the win are Kraniel Villoria (Arellano), Franz Pasamente (CSB), Raymund Pascua (EAC), MJ Dela Virgen (JRU), Matthew Bernabe (Letran), Ian Alban (LPU), Almel Orquina (Mapua), Flash Sadiwa (Perpetual), Radge Tongco (San Beda), and Ryan Costelo (San Sebastian).


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News