Mallillin takes home another NCAA MVP to CSB-LSGH

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Oct 06, 2016 06:09 PM
Mallillin takes home another NCAA MVP to CSB-LSGH
MILESTONE. Troy Mallillin is the second-ever Junior Blazer to win MVP.

No longer with any Rivero on the roster, College of St. Benilde-La Salle Greenhills remains a contender with a league-leading power performer.

And now, that league-leading power performer can claim something that only Prince Rivero before him can in their school history.

Troy Mallillin, long the pacesetter in Statistical Points (SPs), is officially the Most Valuable Player in the 92nd Season of the NCAA Juniors Basketball Tournament.

Mallillin locked up the award after accumulating 48.11 SPs, edging out runner-up Sam Abu Hijleh of San Beda High School who had 46.56 SPs.

From out of nowhere, the 17-year-old busted out in his final year with per game counts of 19.3 points, 10.1 rebounds, and one assist. On his back, CSB-LSGH matched their best elimination round finish in school history in claiming the third-seed.

The versatile forward’s win not only represents the greatest personal achievement for him thus far in his young career, it also registers the second time that the tournament’s top individual player is a Junior Blazer.

Only the elder Rivero is in Mallillin’s company as an MVP from CSB-LSGH.

Runner-up Abu Hijleh averaged 13.1 points, 10.4 rebounds, and one assist to power the Red Cubs in their bid for a historic eight-peat.

Meanwhile, San Beda’s Josh Tagala is set to take home the Most Improved Player plum after rising from 20th in SPs in 2015 to fourth in SPs in 2016.

Tagala’s jump up by 16 spots gave him the win over Mallillin who jumped up by 11 spots from 12th in 2015 to first in 2016.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News