Red Lions sweep Chiefs in NCAA 92 Finals

Paul Lintag on Oct 11, 2016 05:53 PM
Red Lions sweep Chiefs in NCAA 92 Finals
Davon Potts scored all 10 of his points in the fourth quarter to hand San Beda its 20th NCAA title, sweeping the Arellano Chiefs for the second time in three seasons.

What's the nickname for Davon Potts again?

Yep, Mr. Fourth Quarter.

Potts landed the telling blows in Game 2 of the NCAA Season 92 men's basketball tournament Finals Tuesday at the MOA Arena and the Red Lions completed the sweep of Arellano University, 83-73, to win San Beda's 9th championship in 11 years.

With Jio Jalalon in the middle of a spritied fourth-quarter takeover, Potts took on the challenge head on and poured all of his 10 points in the last seven minutes of the season.

Potts got on the board for the first time after a big triple to tie things up at 66. The Fil-Am forward then hit another three on a fastbreak to give the Red Lions the lead, 69-68, with 5:30 to go.

But the biggest play came in the final 1:48 after Arnaud Noah found Potts waiting in the corner for the final dagger trey, giving the Red Lions a 78-73 advantage and essentially the championship.

This came immediately after Jalalon committed a crucial turnover in the two-minute mark of the fourth.

The victory by the Red Lions was their second over the Chiefs in the Finals in the last three seasons after San Beda also swept Arellano in Season 90.

"This is one for the books. I'm very happy, Good is good and of course the 15 young men, sila yung bida dito eh," head coach Jamike Jarin said.

"It was a heartbreaking loss last year, it took me a year to get back here. I'm just happy," he added.

Noah ended up with 18 points, 11 rebounds, and two assists to lead the Red Lions in Game 2. He was later awarded the Finals MVP award for his efforts.

Jalalon scored 19 for the Chiefs but he fouled out with 35.3 seconds remaining.

After a slow start to Game 2, the Red Lions turned the corner in the second quarter and eventually  put up an 11-point lead in the second half.

However, the Chiefs would stage a comeback with Jalalon running the offense, taking over in the fourth before Potts woke up and handed the title to San Beda.

This championship is San Beda's 20th in the NCAA. Since the Red Lions started their current dynasty back in 2006, only San Sebastian (2009) and Letran (2015) managed to beat them in the Final round.


The Scores:

SAN BEDA 83 – Noah 18, Soberano 16, Bolick 13, Mocon 11, Potts 10, Sara 7, Presbitero 5, Adamos 2, Bonsubre 2, Tongco 0

ARELLANO 73 – Jalalon 19, Enriquez 14, Nichols 12, Canete 8, Gumaru 6, Meca 5, Salado 4, Cadavis 4, Flores 1, Aguilar 0, Enriquez 0,

Quarterscores: 18-25, 45-40, 63-60, 83-73



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News