Soltones bags third straight NCAA Season MVP award

Soltones bags third straight NCAA Season MVP award
Grethcel Soltones receives her third straight Most Valuable Player award but will it be enough to inspire her to lead the San Sebastian College Lady Stags to the throne?

Powerful hitter Grethcel Soltones of San Sebastian College will bid farewell to her collegiate career with another Most Valuable Player award.

Soltones, who led the Lady Stags to four championship stints in her five years of action, received the highest individual honor for the third straight year Friday before the Game 2 of the 92nd NCAA women’s volleyball Finals between SSC-R and the Arellano University Lady Chiefs at The Arena in San Juan.

The 21-year-old business management student was also awarded with the 1st Best Outside Spiker recognition with 44.61% success rate in attacks.

Aside from Soltones, who has yet to win a title to complete her colorful collegiate career, other Lady Stags feted were Vira Guillema as Best Setter after averaging 11.88 excellent sets per frame and Alyssa Eroa as Best Libero with an elimination round efficiency rating of 47.56% in receptions and 6.28 average digs per frame.

Lady Chiefs hitter Jovielyn Prado was named 2nd Best Outside Spiker, University of Perpetual Help’s Loudes Clemente and teammate Coleen Bravo were the 1st and 2nd Best Middle Blockers while Karen Montojo of Jose Rizal University took home the Best Opposite Spiker recognition.

San Beda College’s prolific scorer Francesca Racraquin received the Rookie of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Lyceum of the Philippines University nailed five individual awards led by Genesis Redido, who bagged the juniors MVP award.

Sean Escallar was named Best Setter, Valeriano Sasis III and Allen Calicdan got the 1st and 2nd Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively, while Juvic Colonia pocketed the Rookie of the Year honor.

Ederson Rebusora and Francis Casas of Emilio Aguinaldo College were named 1st and 2nd Best Outside Hitters while Arellano’s Zackhaery Dablo (Best Libero) and Robbie Pamittan (Best Opposite Spiker) round up the list of winners.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles        



Latest News