NCAA honors four members of PBA’s 40 Greatest

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Jul 08, 2017 02:07 PM
NCAA honors four members of PBA’s 40 Greatest
ONWARD. In all, the NCAA recognized 20 people honed by its member-schools.

Now in its 93rd Season, the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament has had a lot of history.

The country’s first and oldest collegiate league looked back to its bright past as it sets out for an even brighter future during the opening ceremonies of Season 93 on Saturday at the MOA Arena.

The NCAA honored 20 people who have made a mark for their respective schools as well as the league itself. “The purpose of this is to acknowledge the fruit of the NCAA. We recognize their contributions to their fields,” president Rev. Fr. Nemesio Tolentin, OAR said.

Headlining the honorees were PBA 40 Greatest members Kerby Raymundo of Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Atoy Co of Mapua University, and Philip Cezar and Vergel Meneses of Jose Rizal University.

The league also hailed the contributions of former and current pro players Arellano University’s Jiovani Jalalon and Nard Pinto, College of St. Benilde’s Jonathan Grey and Sunday Salvacion, Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Christ Mejos, Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Gary David, San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Rommel Adducul, Egay Macaraya, and Boy Mora, Mapua’s Chito Victolero, and Letran’s Raymond Almazan.

Also recognized were businessman, James Tan Sy from San Beda College, board topnotcher Dr. Karl Mercader military officer Rosendo Moro Dial from University of Perpetual Help, dean Ariel Sison from EAC, and radio jock Jhaiho from LPU.

Unlike past years when Alvin Patrimonio and Chito Loyzaga had time for speeches during the opening ceremonies, host school San Sebastian opted for a different approach this time around. “We did not have one person talking. This time, we invited the icons of the NCAA schools because their presence (means) more than words,” Tolentin said.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News