New Slam Dunk king to be crowned in NCAA All-Star

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 29, 2017 06:11 PM
New Slam Dunk king to be crowned in NCAA All-Star
SKY HIGH. Someone other than Yankie Haruna will prove to be the best rim-rattler of them all.

Yankie Haruna, injured even before the beginning of the NCAA 93 Men’s Basketball Tournament, will not be able to defend his crown as the king of the Slam Dunk Contest.

That means that a new name is set to be hailed as the best rim-rattler in the league’s midseason classic on Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Lervin Flores of Arellano University who placed as runner-up a year ago now finds himself as the frontrunner.

Challenging him, however, will be San Beda College’s Arnaud Noah who won the Slam Dunk Contest in 2014 as well as San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Allyn Bulanadi who will be competing for the second straight time.

Other contestants include Justin Gutang from College of St. Benilde, Rustan Bugarin from Emilio Aguinaldo College, Jefferson Sarmiento from Jose Rizal University, Renato Ular from Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Yancy Remulla from Lyceum of the Philippines University, and Kervin Lucente from University of Perpetual Help.

Mapua University will not be fielding a contestant.

Last season, Haruna bested Flores in the championship round. The former sustained a left shoulder injury, however, and was ruled out even before the beginning of the season.

Meanwhile, a Seniors player, a Juniors player, and a former player will team up anew for each and every one of the member-schools in the Shooting Stars.

Jose Rizal University is all set to defend its title, this time with an all-new team consisting of Heavy Bomber Jed Mendoza, Light Bomber Toby Agustin, and alumnus Paolo Pontejos.

They will go up against a field that includes Chief Zach Nicholls, Brave Kobe Camacho, and alumnus Keith Agovida; Blazer Edward Dixon, Junior Blazer Joshua David, and alumnus Karl Santos; General Jervin Guzman, Brigadier Maui Cruz, and alumnus Dhan Diolanto; Knight Daryl Pascual, Squire Neil Guarino, and an alumnus yet to be announced;

Pirate Wilson Baltazar, Junior Pirate Mac Guadana, and an alumnus yet to be announced; Cardinal Leo Gabo, Red Robin Clint Escamis, and alumnus Randy Alcantara; Alta GJ Ylagan, Junior Alta Jielo Razon, and alumnus Gerald Dizon; Golden Stag Michael Are, Staglet Rustin Rodriguez, and alumnus Paul Riguera; and Red Lion Clint Doliguez, Red Cub Evan Nelle, and alumnus Dan Sara.

The Skills Challenge will also be contested by Levi Dela Cruz of Arellano, Unique Naboa of CSB, Francis Munsayac of EAC, Aaron Bordon of JRU, Miah Taladua of Letran, Jaycee Marcelino of LPU, JP Nieles of Mapua, Keith Pido of Perpetual, Radge Tongco of San Beda, and Are of San Sebastian.

The NCAA 93 All-Star will still be LIVE on S+A, S+A HD, and

Telecast begins at 1:00 PM with the Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, Three-Point Shootout, and the Slam Dunk Contest preceding the All-Star Game.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News