Onwubere is surprise challenger to Soberano in 3-Point Shootout

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 29, 2017 06:11 PM
Onwubere is challenger to Soberano in 3-Point Shootout
MAKE IT RAIN. Can AC Soberano prove he's still the man when it comes to long-range missiles.

AC Soberano remains regarded as the top marksman in the NCAA 93 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Many others have their sights set on his title, however.

San Beda College’s sharpshooter will go all out to defend his title in the Three-Point Shootout in the NCAA All-Star scheduled for Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Putting Soberano under siege are fellow snipers Jerrick Balanza of Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Wilson Baltazar of Lyceum of the Philippines University, and RK Ilagan of San Sebastian College-Recoletos.

A surprise challenger is Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Sidney Onwubere who hopes to show off his newfound marksmanship in the event.

Rounding out the field are Brylle Meca of Arellano University, Matt Johnson of College of St. Benilde, MJ Dela Virgen of Jose Rizal University, Almel Orquina of Mapua University, and Jack Hao of University of Perpetual Help.

Meanwhile, a Seniors player, a Juniors player, and a former player will team up anew for each and every one of the member-schools in the Shooting Stars.

Jose Rizal University is all set to defend its title, this time with an all-new team consisting of Heavy Bomber Jed Mendoza, Light Bomber Toby Agustin, and alumnus Paolo Pontejos.

They will go up against a field that includes Chief Zach Nicholls, Brave Kobe Camacho, and alumnus Keith Agovida; Blazer Edward Dixon, Junior Blazer Joshua David, and alumnus Karl Santos; General Jervin Guzman, Brigadier Maui Cruz, and alumnus Dhan Diolanto; Knight Daryl Pascual, Squire Neil Guarino, and an alumnus yet to be announced;

Pirate Wilson Baltazar, Junior Pirate Mac Guadana, and an alumnus yet to be announced; Cardinal Leo Gabo, Red Robin Clint Escamis, and alumnus Randy Alcantara; Alta GJ Ylagan, Junior Alta Jielo Razon, and alumnus Gerald Dizon; Golden Stag Michael Are, Staglet Rustin Rodriguez, and alumnus Paul Riguera; and Red Lion Clint Doliguez, Red Cub Evan Nelle, and alumnus Dan Sara.

The Skills Challenge will also be contested by Levi Dela Cruz of Arellano, Unique Naboa of CSB, Francis Munsayac of EAC, Aaron Bordon of JRU, Miah Taladua of Letran, Jaycee Marcelino of LPU, JP Nieles of Mapua, Keith Pido of Perpetual, Radge Tongco of San Beda, and Are of San Sebastian.

The NCAA 93 All-Star will still be LIVE on S+A, S+A HD, and sports.abs-cbn.com/livestream/ncaa.

Telecast begins at 1:00 PM with the Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, Three-Point Shootout, and the Slam Dunk Contest preceding the All-Star Game.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News