Betting over fastfood leads to Perpetual win in Shooting Stars

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 01, 2017 03:29 PM
Betting over fastfood leads to Perps win in Shooting Stars
EVOLUTION. Alumnus Gerald Dizon, Alta GJ Ylagan, and Junior Alta Jielo Razon left no doubt in winning the Shooting Stars.

University of Perpetual Help Juniors assistant coach Gerald Dizon and man man Jielo Razon toss up halfcourt shots every after practice.

At stake was a free meal in Mcdonald’s.

The fun-time games proved enough practice for the NCAA 93 All-Star Shooting Stars as the Altas lapped the eight-team field on Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Dizon drilled the event-winning halfcourt shot to log a time of 24.8 for the Las Pinas-based squad – 17 seconds better than runner-up Arellano University.

“Pina-practice talaga namin every after training. Kung sinong talo, bibili ng Mcdo,” Dizon, who was playing for their Seniors team a year ago but is now coaching in their Juniors team.

That much was evident in the preliminary round as King Junior Alta Razon converted the halfcourt heave on his very first try. Their time then was an impressive 20.7.

That put them already way ahead of the 31 seconds by the Arellano group made up of Chief Zach Nicholls, Brave Kobe Camacho, and former player Donald Gumaru.

Still, Arellano tallied a time of 41.7 in the championship round to put pressure on Perpetual. “Medyo na-pressure kami sa Arellano e,” current Alta GJ Ylagan said.

The Altas did nothing but come through, leaving no doubt in winning the second-ever edition of the event.

While Ylagan did not make good on any halfcourt shot, he had no problems whatsoever in hitting his signature three-pointers.

Other participants included Lyceum of the Philippines University’s Spencer Pretta, Mac Guadaña, and Chico Lanete; San Beda College’s Clint Doliguez, Evan Nelle, and Dan Sara; Jose Rizal University’s MJ Dela Virgen, Toby Agustin, and Dave Sanchez; Mapua University’s Cedric Pelayo, Clint Escamis, and Randy Alcantara;

San Sebastian College-Recoletos’ Michael Are, Rustin Rodriguez, and Paul Riguera; Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s Daryl Pascual, Neil Guarino, and Robert Guevarra; Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Jervin Guzman, Maui Cruz, and Bong Melocoton; College of St. Benilde’s Edward Dixon, Joshua David, and Karl Santos.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News