Heroes and Saints share the floor in revitalized NCAA All-Star

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 01, 2017 07:55 AM
Heroes and Saints share floor in revitalized NCAA All-Star
TARGETS ON THE BACK. LPU and Team Heroes will be put to the test by Team Saints led by archrivals San Beda and Letran.

Lyceum of the Philippines University has been an unsolvable riddle thus far in the 93rd Season of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.

And so, it just may take the unprecedented team up of archrivals San Beda College and Colegio de San Juan de Letran to find the answer.

The Red Lions and the Knights team up to lead Team Saints into battle against the Pirate-powered Team Heroes in this year’s All-Star Game scheduled for Friday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

The new-look star-studded exhibition itips-off at 4:00 PM and, of course, all of the action will still be on S+A, S+A HD, and livestream.

League-leading LPU has been undefeated thus far in the tournament and will have head coach Topex Robinson, main man CJ Perez, team captain MJ Ayaay, and post presence Mike Nzeusseu showing the way for Team Heroes.

They will be joined by Arellano University’s Allen Enriquez, Lervin Flores, and Kent Salado; Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Jerome Garcia, Francis Munsayac, and Sidney Onwubere; Jose Rizal University’s Ervin Grospe, Jed Mendoza, and Teytey Teodoro; and Mapua University’s Christian Bunag, JB Raflores and Laurenz Victoria.

Plotting to give the Pirates their first taste of defeat will be a rare get-together by Red Lions Robert Bolick, Javee Mocon, and Davon Potts and Knights JP Calvo, Rey Nambatac, and Bong Quinto.

Edward Dixon, JJ Domingo, and Gerard Castor of College of St. Benilde; Gab Dagangon, Prince Eze, and GJ Ylagan of University of Perpetual Help; and Alvin Baetiong, Kevin Baytan, and Ian Valdez of San Sebastian College-Recoletos will provide backup for them.

Boyet Fernandez, head coach of the defending champions, will call the shots for Team Saints.

This will be the first time in the event’s four-year history that the teams will be divided into Heroes and Saints.

In the previous iterations, the teams were based on geography with the West All-Stars made up of Intramuros-based squads Letran, LPU, and Mapua together with schools along Taft Avenue in CSB and EAC and the East All-Stars comprised by the rest of the teams such as Arellano, JRU, Perpetual, San Beda, and San Sebastian.

Before the All-Star Game, the Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, Three-Point Shootout, and Slam Dunk Contest will take place.

Telecast of the midseason classic begins at 1:00 PM.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News