Perpetual’s Eze is MVP leader; Perez, Mocon tied at third

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 01, 2017 07:16 PM
Perpetual’s Eze is MVP leader; Perez, Mocon tied at third
BRIGHT LIGHTS. Prince Eze has taken center stage for Perpetual following the departure of fellow Nigerian Bright Akhuetie.

University of Perpetual Help only has three wins to show through the first round in the NCAA 93 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

However, Alta big man Prince Eze has been making his presence felt in every other statistical category.

The league-leader in rebounds and top 10 in points and blocks, the Nigerian finds himself ahead of the pack in the MVP race with 52.4 Statistical Points (SPs).

Eze has a four-point lead over second-running Mike Nzeusseu of Lyceum of the Philippines University who has 48.7 SPs to his name.

He has taken center stage for the Las Pinas-based team following the departure of fellow Nigerian Bright Akhuetie.

Perpetual’s man in the middle is averaging 14.8 points on 52.4 percent shooting to go along with 17.2 rebounds and 2.2 blocks to thrust himself atop the conversation of top individual performers. “I just do whatever I have to do to help us win,” he said.

This, even though the Altas’ 3-6 record has not garnered him that many win bonuses.

However, Eze made it clear that being the MVP frontrunner is of no matter to him. “We should win. This does not mean anything to me if we’re not winning,” he expressed.

Also, he will not be eligible for the award if his team is not in the Final Four.

In such case, the recognition may very well fall into the lap of Nzeusseu who serves as the paint presence for the undefeated Pirates.

The Cameroonian is norming 11.1 points and 10.9 rebounds on top of 1.3 blocks.

Tied for third are LPU’s CJ Perez and San Beda College’s Javee Mocon who both have 47.6 SPs.

Rounding out the top 10 are Sidney Onwubere of Emilio Aguinaldo College, Robert Bolick of San Beda, Rey Nambatac of Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Christian Bunag of Mapua University, Jaycee Marcelino of LPU, and LPU’s MJ Ayaay and Jose Rizal University’s Abdul Wahab Abdul Razak who are knotted for 10th.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News