NCAA: Squires coach: 'Kaya kami natalo dahil sa referees'

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 21, 2018 07:09 PM
NCAA: Squires coach: 'Kaya kami natalo dahil sa referees'
CJ Saure and Letran did not appreciate the calls against them in the final frame (FILE PHOTO)

Mapua High School was in the middle of a run on Tuesday, trying to put away Colegio de San Juan de Letran when the game was put on hold.

After Red Robin Dan Arches made good on a basket that put his team up, 69-54, he then told sweet nothings to Squire CJ Saure. The latter apparently took offense and the two got too close with each other.

From there, Letran’s Kyle Tolentino and Mark Omega rushed from the bench. Fortunately, game officials and security put a stop to proceedings before anything could escalate.

After replay reviews, Saure was assessed with an unsportsmanlike foul as well as a technical foul for showing a fighting stance. With that, he was sent back to the locker room along with Tolentino and Omega who were slapped with technicals for entering the playing court.

Arches did not get any sanction and proceeded to convert a couple of charities off of Saure’s unsportsmanlike foul.

Play resumed not long after, but by then, Mapua was in complete control.

Squires head coach Raymond Valenzona lamented the fact that because of those calls, the fight was taken out of them. “Sabi ko (sa referees), sila nag-decide ng game e. ‘Di na players nag-decide e, (referees) nag-decide e,” he told reporters post-game.

Coach Raymond went on to question why all the Red Robins got from a scuffle was a warning for taunting – and it wasn’t even Arches who got it. “Yung player namin ang pinagmumumura tapos binangga e tapos kami pa yung nagkaroon (ng penalties). Biro mo, mas marami pa sa aming na-thrown out kesa sa kanila,” he said.

He then continued, “Yung ginawa ng kalaban, wala man lang penalty? Sobra e.”

As it turns out, the Letran mentor went out of his way to give game officials a piece of his mind after the final buzzer. “Tinanong ko, sabi ko, ‘Ref, alam mo, kaya kami natalo dahil sayo. Sabi niya, ‘Coach, sorry, ‘di ko nakita e,’” he narrated.

He then continued, “Sabi ko, ‘Anong gagawin namin kung kasalanan mo? Natalo kami dahil sayo.’”

And apparently, referees admitted their mistake to him right then and there. As coach Raymond put it, “Ang nasabi na lang niya, kasalanan daw niya.”

With that, the Squires say they are considering putting the game under protest – if management committee member Fr. Vic Calvo sees fit. “Siguro, dun na lang kay Fr. Vic. Sasabihin namin sa kanya, ipapa-review namin yung video tapos siya na lang magde-decide,” their coach said.

For their part, the Red Robins are just glad that a full-blown fight did not break out. “Siyempre, mga bata, nadadala sa ganung physicality. Buti na lang, natapos yung game na wala namang gulong nangyari,” head coach Randy Alcantara said.

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News